LibGuides: Faculty Development: Teaching and Learning Resources: Higher Education Research

Higher Education Research

Tap into Palm Beach State College's library resources. PBSC Faculty have free 24/7 access to over 150 databases through the PBSC library. To access, please login to Workday and select the Library Icon. Librarians are available to help you to find the best information for your needs.

Additional Resources

A-Z Databases: Professional (Higher Education and Library)
Databases and other resources most useful to professors and librarians.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.

To create a personal account, click more...
1) Go to Chronicle.com - Sign Up.

2) Create a free account using your institutional email address. (You also have the option of signing up for The Chronicle’s free email newsletters during the registration process)

3) Activate your account by confirming your email address. Look for an email from circulation@app.chronicle.com with the subject line “The Chronicle: Confirm your email address.”
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.

OpenAthens
by Rob Krull Last Updated Feb 9, 2023 46 views this year
Electronic Resources
by Robbie Allen - Palm Beach State College Last Updated Feb 9, 2023 48 views this year
Open Educational Resources (OER)
by Rob Krull Last Updated Jun 3, 2020 3 views this year
Primo VE: Students, Faculty, & Staff
by Rob Krull Last Updated Feb 8, 2023 29 views this year

Higher Education Databases (Peer Reviewed Journals)

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Formerly InfoTrac OneFile, this database provides articles from over 8000 journals in a wide variety of subjects.
Academic OneFile Select (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Topics range from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science, and technology. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Community College Journal of Research and Practice This link opens in a new window
Community College Journal of Research and Practice is published twelve times per year. The journal is a multidisciplinary forum for researchers and practitioners in higher education and the behavioral and social sciences. It promotes an increased awareness of community college issues by providing an exchange of ideas, research, and empirically tested educational innovations.
All review papers in this journal have undergone editorial screening and peer review.
Education Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes education periodicals as far back as 1983, over 450 of which are peer-reviewed. Full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Education Full-text covers a wide range of subjects such including Athletics, Distance Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, etc.
Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Educator's Reference (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Content included in the database is almost entirely full-text. The entire ERIC Database will be fully integrated into ERC with direct links to over 50% of the ERIC titles in FULL-TEXT.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). Includes 1.1+ million records from 1,016 journals and other documents from 1966 to the present.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to periodical and news content as well as indexing from a variety of general and specialized journals - from the New York Times.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
A new solution designed to support the unique teaching and learning needs of business faculty and students, ProQuest One Business delivers a mix of practical and theoretical content in an interface that helps students build the research skills they'll need for success in their courses and careers.

A business-focused experience intuitively guides users to content like journal articles, books, and company, industry and country reports – the materials they need for their most common assignments. Company Overview Pages help students quickly find the best resources for in-depth company research, including SWOT analyses, case studies, and industry reports.
ProQuest One Business content includes:
•Company, industry and country reports from providers such as the Economist Intelligence Unit and Fitch Solutions, and in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan
•Scholarly journal and ebook coverage from hundreds of renowned publishers, including Emerald and Springer
•Full text of the three major global business news sources: The Wall Street Journal, the Economist and the Financial Times
•A robust collection of video – including interviews with business leaders, case studies and trainings

*Contains Hoovers Company Profiles and D&B Reports
Springer eJournal Collection (Springer) This link opens in a new window
Full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s, but varies by title. Content is updated daily.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online provides access to over 1 million journals articles and access to 20,000 e-books for the academic, professional and business communities. Features include citation alerts and downloads, active reference linking and RSS feeds.

Subscribed titles include: Community College Journal of Research and Practice, PRIMUS, and College Mathematics Journal
Includes partial and open access.