LibGuides: What Counts As Evidence?: Library Resources

eReference

Credo Reference (Credo) This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 reference sources from more than 70 publishers. Integrated with journal article databases (EBSCO, Gale, JSTOR, Wilson), as well as EasyBib.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and - eBooks - in many subject area including literature, health, science, art, history, business, social science, and multicultural studies. To search a specific title (e.g. Short Stories for Students, Drama for Students, etc.), select the publication by clicking on the "+" beside the discipline which covers it.

Academic Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
African American Experience (ABC CLIO) This link opens in a new window
The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field.
American History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
This resource-rich reference and curriculum solution helps students understand the issues, perspectives, and history that have shaped our nation.
Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Daily Life Online provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary documents. Based on the landmark Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life.
Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
ALT LINK: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/palmbeachstate.edu?url=https://fod.infobase.com/

Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes national news magazines, encyclopedias, core business journals, Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service newspaper articles, more than 15 reference books, and more than 2,000 titles, including 1,200 in full text.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Offers users the ability to search with a single query, one, several or all of the available Thomson Gale databases.
History Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Medical & health; federal, state & international legal materials; corporate news & financial information, and more.
Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.

Contemporary Issues Databases

CQ Researcher Plus Archives (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher — dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
From terrorism to climate change, current events are an immutable part of our culture. But news sound bites and traditional databases often only scratch the surface in guiding us through a thoughtful examination of the issues. Now, from the publisher with over 45 major educational technology awards, comes Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society, a rich online resource that offers a more thorough, informative path to studying enduring issues: one that not only provides clear answers but also helps users frame their questions.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Points of View Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.