LibGuides: SLS 1501 Career Research Guide (Lake Worth): Career Books and Websites

Featured Websites

CareerOneStop
http://www.careeronestop.org
Sections of website include: Explore Careers, Salary & Benefits, Education & Training, Job Search, Resumes & Interviews. Profiles over 750 specific occupations, including detailed salary and wage information by state and county from the Bureau of Labor Statistics

O*Net
http://www.onetonline.org/
A tool for career exploration and job analysis created for the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment & Training Administration.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

https://www.bls.gov/ooh/

This book is updated every year and features jobs/careers, the nature of the work, working conditions, job outlook, training and education needed, earnings, related occupations, and additional information sources, including Web sites.

Books and eBooks

Palm Beach State College Library Catalog
Provides access to on-campus book collections, reserve catalog, and full-text e-Books.

How to Use Primo VE (the new library catalog)

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is now a key provider of eBooks and audiobooks to libraries and other institutions worldwide. The synergy of eBooks and audiobooks with EBSCOs multifaceted collection of electronic content provides libraries with even more options for fulfilling their growing electronic information needs. Making eBook and audiobook content accessible via the popular EBSCOhost interface will provide for a more powerful, fully-integrated user experience and prove valuable to librarians, students, and researchers. EBSCO offers a rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and - eBooks - in many subject area including literature, health, science, art, history, business, social science, and multicultural studies. To search a specific title (e.g. Short Stories for Students, Drama for Students, etc.), select the publication by clicking on the "+" beside the discipline which covers it.

Featured Books

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance by Ferguson Publishing Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ref HF5381 .E52 2018
ISBN: 9780816085149
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Comprehensive career reference guide providing facts and statistics about 140 fields and industries and more than 980 occupations.
More than 4,000 websites are listed in the career field and profession articles and refer users to professional associations, government agencies, and other organizations. More than 1,000 sidebars ranging from profiles of industry movers and shakers to glossaries of industry jargon to fast-fact industry statistics are also included. Designed to hold students' attention and relay information effectively, this edition of Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance is the ideal starting place for career research. -- Provided by publisher.