Academic Journal Word Map by ELSEVIER
Databases are great for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles. Use a database to find full text articles. Electronic journals have all of the information as a print bound journal and can be found in databases.
An Academic or Scholarly Journal is a peer-reviewed or refereed periodical in which scholarship relating to a particular academic discipline is published. Academic Journals serve as forums for the introduction and presentation for scrutiny of new research and the critique of existing research.
Indexes and Databases are a collection of Academic Journals and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using Keywords or words that describe the topic. Databases will allow you to search across hundreds if not thousands of journals at one time.
If the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database, click on the "Find it @ FAU" button. This is a short cut, which will search to see if a full text version exists in either electronic or print format.
Below is a small list of Academic Journals that cover topics but limited to "Political Science" or "Political Theory." Reminder, these links are only accessible when in the FAU Library.
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. American School Board Journal is a scholarly journal.
Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time and Newsweek are examples of popular journals.
Need help? Click here.