Google Books (previously known as Google BookSearch and Google Print) is a service from Google, Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database.
Need help using Google Scholar? Check here.
Some articles listed in Google Scholar are available from FAU in Full Text.
If FAU does not have access to full text of the article, please use Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of the article for your use.
The WorldCat database is the most comprehensive bibliography, with over 179 million bibliographic records representing over 400 languages and covering over 4,000 years of knowledge. It allows you to search a combined catalog of most of the libraries in North America, and many in other parts of the world.
Library of Congress collections contain over 158 million books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources. More than 18 million records describing these collections are located in the LC Online Catalog. You can search these records by keyword or browse by authors/creators, subjects, name/titles, uniform titles, and call numbers. Browse lists also include searching aids such cross-references and scope notes.
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. Founded in 1949, CRL supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars a wealth of rare and uncommon primary source materials from all world regions.
To request books or journal articles from other libraries, use Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Loan time typically takes 7-10 days, so don’t wait until the last minute!
If you have looked in the catalog and in the databases and still cannot find the material that you are looking for, or if you know the specific name of the book or article that you are trying to find that you know is not at FAU, you can use interlibrary loan (ILL).
Interlibrary loan uses a program to process your requests and find items at other libraries. Intralibrary loan will request materials that are located at other FAU branches. You can also use ILL to track your requests once they have been entered. Materials can then be picked up at Boca Raton or the branch closest to you.
Remember that FAU will not interlibrary loan required texts for your class or materials that are already owned by FAU, so if an item is missing from the shelves, fill out a lost or stolen materials form and submit it online or at the circulation desk. REMEMBER Interlibrary loan takes time (7-10 days), so you cannot wait until the last minute to request these materials.