LibGuides: Resources for Dual Enrollment Students: School District of PBC

Career Education

"A Program of Study (POS) is a sequenced listing of academic and CTE courses that connect student’s high school and postsecondary educational experiences." - School District of Palm Beach County

The following link provides a list of programs that are available to students: https://fl50010848.schoolwires.net/Page/618

Quick Links

College and Career
Resources for students to use in future planning, dual enrollment guidance, and testing information.
College Readiness Assessments
Information about SAT/ACT/PSAT and Math College Place tests - registration and practice.
PBCSD HS Counseling Webpage
"It is the mission of School District of Palm Beach County school counselors to foster academic achievement, college and career readiness, and social/emotional development for all students through direct counseling services and collaboration with teachers, administrators, parents, and community."
Scholarship Database
"Looking for money to pay for school? This tool matches you to scholarship money. This is a free scholarship matching service provided by the School District of Palm Beach County."
School Counseling
Career resources, college resources, and parent resources.
State University System of Florida
Chart of Florida Universities and their requirements, stats, and other important information. Check out if applying to universities!

Databases & eBooks

How to access Secondary Library Resources: Resources are best accessed through the Student Portal. Most of the resources will authenticate automatically even from home once the student has logged into the portal. Speak to the school library media specialist if you find a resource that requires a remote password.

Available Databases:

GALE Research Databases includesGALE’s In Context Suite which offers media-rich authoritative curriculum-related information. Look for the button icons for Science In Context, Global Issues in Context and Opposing Viewpoints in Context. Articles and information from all three of these databases can be downloaded to the student’s Google Drive with a simple touch of a button.

SIRS Researcher is a pro/con database providing information on the major issues of our day. Students can locate viewpoint articles that are carefully curated from newspapers, magazines and primary source documents. Articles and resources can be downloaded and saved or printed for immediate use. SIRS Researcher and GALE Opposing Viewpoints are excellent sources for students working on writing position papers or debate speeches.

Availble eBooks:

MackinVIA is the District-wide eBook platform for each of our public schools that also have a library collection. These eBooks are licensed for student use.

For more information, visit: https://www.palmbeachschools.org/cms/one.aspx?portalId=270616&pageId=7394644

World Book Advanced supports secondary students in grades 8 and up with topical information, historical documents and news updates. World Book Advanced includes a variety of research tools including a citation builder. Articles and media can be downloaded and printed as needed. World Book Advance also optimizes for tablet use.

Free Microsoft Office

Dual Enrollment students can download Microsoft Office Suite through the School District of Palm Beach County, and Palm Beach State College. Click the photo above for the School District's link, or here for directions through PBSC.