LibGuides: Resources for Dual Enrollment Students: Databases and Journals

Featured Databases

Academic Writer This link opens in a new window
Academic Writer is APA's authoritative solution offering you a complete digital environment for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers. Use the Learning Center to find video quick guides and tutorials to help you get started and refine your research and writing.Use the Reference Center to find tools to assist you with building and managing a reference library. Use the Writing Center to select an APA Style paper template, collaborate with peers and reviewers, and check your work.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines. It also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,639 biographies, 104,481 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 285,912 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
A digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present. Covers new technology (iPods, gaming, gadgets), Internet memes and chatspeak, movies, TV, radio, music, comics and graphic novels, sports and pastimes, fads, fashion, fast food and more.
College Source This link opens in a new window
A virtual collection which includes 39,270 U.S. and international college catalogs, representing 2-year, 4-year and graduate institutions, as well as law, medical and specialty schools.
PrepSTEP for Colleges This link opens in a new window
LearningExpress Library provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.
High School Edition (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Designed for secondary school students, Student Edition is comprised of a variety of full-text sources that include the leading magazines, newspapers and reference books.

Introduction to Databases

Databases, searchable collections of information, provide access to useful research materials from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. They can also include industry news, products, eBooks, and relevant Web sources.

Directions to use the PBSC databases:

Option 1

Login to Workday or Canvas
Click on Library Resources or PBSC eLibrary; both are located on the left
Go to A-Z Databases then look for the Databases listed below

Option 2

Go directly to A-Z Databases
Login using your PBSC credentials, when prompted

Research Companion

Research Companion (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's new cloud-based information literacy solution, ProQuest® Research Companion, is a one-stop resource that guides high school, community college, and university students through research projects, helping them overcome typical barriers. Easy, intuitive, and informative, ProQuest Research Companion enables students to move through projects such as research papers efficiently, generating better research outcomes and reducing frustration.

Short videos and quizzes presented in ten learning modules to guide college students in finding, evaluating, and using information to research and improve writing skills

Career Databases

Peterson's Career Prep This link opens in a new window
Learn about careers, receive personalized career recommendations, create resumes and cover letters, search for jobs, explore schools and training programs, and get advice to help find a job or advance your career.

Must create account during first visit.
Salem Careers (Salem Press) This link opens in a new window
Vocations and Careers Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Trade Magazines, eJournals, & Databases

The links below connect to journal titles via their database location. If prompted, log in with your PBSC credentials

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source combines content from these high-quality databases:
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Index
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective

In addition, it includes unique full-text journals not previously available in any other database. Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Auto Repair Source This link opens in a new window
Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, Auto Repair Source provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.
Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 160 journals and dozens of monographs. It includes indexing for all dentistry and oral sciences journals commonly purchased by dental schools and other related institutions. Also includes an unprecedented collection of more than 130 full-text journals, and dozens of full-text monographs.
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
A new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE STEM journals collection covers numerous technology areas such as cyber security, computing, electrical engineering, robotics, wireless technology and many more.
To download the app: https://innovate.ieee.org/announcing-the-myxplore-app/