Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

General Psychology : Finding Background Information

Psychology can be a fascinating subject of study. Use this guide to help you do research for psychology.

To Support your Position or Argument

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) Opposing Viewpoints Provides information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and links to websites (use this database to find information to support editorials, position papers, debates or about any topic that is controversial or promotes different viewpoints).

Great Databases for Preliminary Research

Credo Reference On Campus | Off Campus
A collection of over 500 reference sources (regular and specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias, quotations, etc.)

Oxford English Dictionary Online (Oxford University Press) On Campus | Off Campus | Tutorial
Searchable online version of the Oxford English Dictionary. Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series. 

Oxford Reference Online Premium (Oxford University Press) On Campus | Off Campus
Offers information 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly articles from the Oxford Companions series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. 

(Use these databases to find background information and definitions of psycholigy-related terminology.

80 years of reference from Oxford

 

Need Biographical Information?

Biography In Context (Gale) On Campus | Off Campus
Comprehensive, biographical reference database covering historical figures and people in many fields.

(Use this database to find biographies of people in the field of psychology).