Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

General Psychology : Articles

Psychology can be a fascinating subject of study. Use this guide to help you do research for psychology.

How Do I Recognize a Scholarly Journal?

Scholarly journals  (professional or peer reviewed journals) have articles that are written for professionals and students. They are reviewed (refereed) by experts in a field. How do they differ from magazines like Time or Newsweek?

  • Scholarly articles present original research, extensive statistics and charts, and a 'Work Cited' page and notes.  General interest magazines  summarize research for general readers.
  • Journals discuss specific topics, such a new medication for diabetes. Magazines present general information, such as an overview of diabetes.
  • Journals are devoted to a specific subject or discipline, such as surgery or art. Magazines cover many topics.
  • Journals have limited extra information, such as advice columns, and pictures are limited.  Magazines have various features and more pictures.
  • Journals are  published by an organization or school. Magazines are published by a company.
  • Journals usually do not contain advertising. Magazines contain many advertisments.

          This is not to say that general interest magazines are not good. However, college study demands that you rely on the research of experts in subject.

Journal Cover

 

 

 

 

Finding Magazine and Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) On Campus | Off Campus (many full-text articles)
Contains articles from nearly 4,500 journals in many areas of academic study.

Education Research Complete (EBSCO) On Campus | Off Campus (many full-text articles)
Topics education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties. 

Expanded Academic ASAP -(Gale) On Campus | Off Campus
Topics range from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science, and technology 

InfoTrac Professional Collection (Gale) On Campus | Off Campus
Provides coverage of 300 full-text journals for educators in the arts and humanities, child and adolescent psychology and development, and more.  

JSTOR On Campus | Off Campus
Provides an archive of full-text scholarly journals from Arts & Sciences collections. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. 

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) On Campus | Off Campus 
Provides authoritative medical information medicine and nursing.  

PsycArticles (EBSCO) On Campus | Off Campus
Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.

Sage Journals (Sage Publications) On Campus | Off Campus
SAGE journals about the Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences..

Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson) On Campus | Off Campus
Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. 

Springerlink (Springer) On Campus | Off Campus (full-text)
Access over 21,000 eBooks and eJournals in a variety of disciplines. Download entire books and journals onto eReaders. 

 

To Get Statistics for your Research

Don't Forget -

With your PantherCard and the Internet, you can access the databases from off campus.