LibGuides: Engineering Technology: Home

Home

Featured Books

Essentials of College Algebra

Examples and Problems in Mathematical Statistics

Biofuels engineering process technology .

Fundamentals of Metallurgy

Finding Scholarly Research

Searching the Library Catalog

The Library Homepage offers resources to help you with your scholarly research and to link to the library catalog and databases and more.

From the library homepage, Search the Library links to the PBSC library catalog. Use it to find books, research articles, trade magazines, and more.

Select the Advanced Search option to enter multiple terms to refine your search. Use AND, OR,or NOT to limit or expand your results.

Using AND, OR, and NOT in an advanced search:

•Use AND to connect different topics into one search and restrict the search results.

Use OR to increase search results with terminology of a similar meaning.

•Use NOT to restrict the number of search results by excluding a term likely to be in the search results.

Suggested Databases

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE STEM journals collection covers numerous technology areas such as cyber security, computing, electrical engineering, robotics, wireless technology and many more.
To download the app: https://innovate.ieee.org/announcing-the-myxplore-app/
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education This link opens in a new window
An official journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), JRME is the premier research journal in mathematics education and is devoted to the interests of teachers and researchers at all levels--preschool through college.
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source combines content from these high-quality databases:
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Index
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective

In addition, it includes unique full-text journals not previously available in any other database. Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to today's most well-read and influential periodicals on the computer, telecommunications and electronics industries.

Writing Resources

Saving & Organizing Citations: NoodleTools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

NoodleTools is a citation generator which contains additional functionality of note cards and writing tools.

2 ways to save a citation in NoodleTools

Direct export to NoodleTools from a database

Use the Direct Export To NoodleTools button to store citations in NoodleTools

Manually insert a citation in NoodleTools found in the library catalog by following the steps:

From the library catalog:

Select the resource title to view the bibliographic record
Select the Citation icon and choose APA 7th edition to format the citation.
Select Copy Citation to Clipboard

In NoodleTools:

Open the appropriate Project or create a Project to store your citation.
Select New Source in the upper right corner of the screen.
Select the Print or In Hand tab and choose the appropriate format of the citation. Select Continue.
Choose Quick Cite: Copy & Paste a citation
Paste the citation in the text box under Manually Edited Citation
Use the APA Guide link in the upper right hand of the screen to verify the proper format.

APA Quick Guide

APA 7
by Janet Naughton- Palm Beach State College Last Updated Dec 11, 2023 6789 views this year
APA Style Center for Health Sciences
by Janet Naughton- Palm Beach State College Last Updated Dec 11, 2023 375 views this year
Atlantic High School Dual Enrolled, AP, IB, & AICE Resources
by Lisa Seymour Last Updated Sep 3, 2024 112 views this year

Research Writing Database: APA Style Central

Store and manage your citations

Academic Writer This link opens in a new window
Academic Writer is APA's authoritative solution offering you a complete digital environment for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers. Use the Learning Center to find video quick guides and tutorials to help you get started and refine your research and writing.Use the Reference Center to find tools to assist you with building and managing a reference library. Use the Writing Center to select an APA Style paper template, collaborate with peers and reviewers, and check your work.

Formatting the research paper and citations

Quotes & Graphics

Public Domain Image Resources

http://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/Help:Public_domain_image_resources

This is a master list of websites which have images in the public domain. "Public domain" usually implies the copyright on the item has expired or no longer applies, and therefore are free to use. Although an image may no longer be protected by copyright it is still proper to provide a citation for them and their source.

Creative Commons Search

http://search.creativecommons.org/

A portal through which you can use several search engines (Google, FotoSearch, Europeana, etc) to find images that may be used without seeking copyright permission.

Brainy Quotes
http://www.brainyquote.com/

Famous Quotes and Authors
http://www.famousquotesandauthors.com/