Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA 7: Home

APA 7th Edition Style Resource Center

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th Edition : The Official Guide to APA Style

APA 7 In-Text Citations

APA 7 Quick Reference Guide

APA 7 Reference Examples

APA 7 Handouts & Guides

Citing APA 7 Business References

APA 7 Heading Levels

APA 7 Paper Template

APA 7 Student Paper Template

APA 7 Student Paper Checklist

Purdue Owl

Introduction to APA 7th Edition

About NoodleTools

NoodleTools is a citation generator which contains the additional functionality of creating note cards among other writing tools.

With NoodleTools you can create full bibliographies, generate citations, generate in-text citations, and more, all in MLA, APA, and Chicago Styles. What you create is also exportable as a Word docx format.

When using NoodleTools, your work is saved in personal folders. Your Personal ID is the key to your personal folders and once you are logged in, you have access to your personal folders from any computer with Internet access.   

Important: Your personal ID is NOT THE SAME as your school or library subscription username/password!  Use this NoodleTools link to create an account and sign-in.

 

Academic Writer/APA Style Central

Annotated Bibliography

What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is bibliography (also known as a Works Cited or References list), with the addition of annotations (paragraph of notes about each source). Most annotated bibliographies are both Descriptive and Evaluative:

  • Descriptive: annotations describe the content of a source
  • Evaluative: annotations describe AND critically evaluate the source

What is an annotation? 

A short paragraph of notes (100-200 words) that describes and/or evaluates each citation (source of information listed in your bibliography). An evaluative annotation described the work and reflects, in your opinion, the relevance, quality, and accuracy of each citation.

Annotations usually consist of the answers to the following questions:

What is the source?

What is the work about?

What is the purpose of the work?

Who is the intended audience?

Who are the authors? What are their qualifications?

Source authority.

Biases of the source.

Limitations of the source.

Strengths of the source.

Do I have to read the entire book/article?

Not necessarily! Preview the information by reviewing: 

  • introductions/conclusions
  • abstracts
  • book reviews
  • websites
  • table of contents
  • first and last paragraphs

Annotated Bibliography citations are listed in alphabetical order. Start each annotation with a correct APA citation.

APA 7 formatting guidelines

  1. References in an annotated bibliography should be in alphabetical order, the same as you would order entries in a reference list
  2. Each annotation should be a new paragraph below its reference entry.
  3. The annotation should be indented 0.5 in. from the left margin.
  4. Do not indent the first line of the annotation. If the annotation spans multiple paragraphs, indent the first line of subsequent paragraphs.