Before you can start your company, you will need to understand the general state of your industry, its growth potential, and how your business model fits into the landscape. Industry research will uncover different threats and opportunities you can consider. Many influences shape an industry including barriers to entry, government or industry regulations, major competitors, and cost structure.
IBISWorld provides industry intelligence that analyzes the business operating risks and opportunities of over 1200 US industries. Each industry report provides the most detailed performance data and analysis on the market; supply chain information; forecasts; risk scores; operating strengths and weaknesses; analysis of external drivers; major player market strategies; and industry profit and cost benchmarks.
Powered by Hoover's™, a Dun & Bradstreet Solution, Mergent Intellect is a flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence.
A new solution designed to support the unique teaching and learning needs of business faculty and students, ProQuest One Business delivers a mix of practical and theoretical content in an interface that helps students build the research skills they'll need for success in their courses and careers.
A business-focused experience intuitively guides users to content like journal articles, books, and company, industry and country reports – the materials they need for their most common assignments. Company Overview Pages help students quickly find the best resources for in-depth company research, including SWOT analyses, case studies, and industry reports.
ProQuest One Business content includes:
•Company, industry and country reports from providers such as the Economist Intelligence Unit and Fitch Solutions, and in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan
•Scholarly journal and ebook coverage from hundreds of renowned publishers, including Emerald and Springer
•Full text of the three major global business news sources: The Wall Street Journal, the Economist and the Financial Times
•A robust collection of video – including interviews with business leaders, case studies and trainings
*Contains Hoovers Company Profiles and D&B Reports
With Statista, you can access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword. Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.
Dissemination of the 2017 Economic Census data is now complete. All data product releases, including the Island Areas, can be found in the Data section of this site.
A portal linking to individual industry guides that provide sources for industry information, research, and analysis for more than 400 industries. Guides often include list resources available from trade associations, industry publications, research firms, and other sources addressing subjects such as industry analysis, statistics, trends, and forecasts, financial information and financial ratios, compensation and salary surveys, and business valuation resources.
Note: Be aware, industry guides linked to are not always free for full use of the resource.
