Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching Your Elected Officials for Palm Beach County: Stay Informed about Current Events

Resources for Checking Facts and Media Bias

Media Bias/Fact Check
The most comprehensive media bias resource on the internet. There are currently 3100+ media sources listed in our database and growing every day. 

Fact Check.org
A nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. They monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.

Politifact 
A Pulitzer Prize winning, fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics. Includes PunditFact and the Truth-O-Meter.

Snopes
​Regarded as an online touchstone of rumor research,  the research materials they use in the preparation of any particular page are listed in the bibliography displayed at the bottom of that page so that readers who wish to verify the validity of our information may check those sources for themselves.

Verbatim
A fact-checking project of Ballotpedia. Examines claims made by elected officials, political appointees, and political candidates at the federal, state, and local levels.

The Washington Post Fact Checker
The purpose of this Web site, and an accompanying column in the Sunday print edition of The Washington Post, is to “truth squad” the statements of political figures regarding issues of great importance, be they national, international or local.

 
 

Stay Up-to-Date

Newspapers are great sources when looking for current information on political candidates and issues at both a national and local level.  It is advisable to stay with recognized newspaper sources, and avoid unfamiliar blogs and websites. It's  also best to look at articles written by newspaper staff, and stay away from opinion pieces and comments because these are often biased.

National Newspaper Websites

The New York Times
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary. It includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. It is considered one the the best national newspapers, and a newspaper of record  (authorized by the government to publish public or legal notices; is thought  to be professional and authoritative).

The Washington Post
The Washington Post is generally regarded as one of the leading daily American newspapers,along with The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal. The Post has distinguished itself through its political reporting on the workings of the White House, Congress, and other aspects of the U.S.. government. (source: Wikipedia)

The Chicago Tribune
Founded in 1847, the Chicago Tribune remains the principal daily newspaper of the Midwestern U.S. and one of the ten largest daily newspapers in the nation. (source: Mondo Times)

The Wall Street Journal
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth, first rate coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

USA Today
USA TODAY NETWORK is the largest local-to-national digital media organization in the country. 

State and Local Newspaper Websites

The Palm Beach Post
The Palm Beach Post is a major metropolitan award-winning newspaper providing local, state, national and international news for the West Palm Beach-Ft. Pierce section of Florida, comprised of Palm Beach, Martin, St. Lucie, Indian River and Okeechobee counties.

The Sun-Sentinel
The Sun Sentinel serves Broward and Palm Beach counties and is recognized as one of Florida's most innovative major daily newspapers with a reputation for journalistic excellence.

The Miami Herald
The newspaper has won 22 Pulitzer Prizes since its inception in 1903.

The Tampa Bay Times
Florida's largest daily newspaper has won 12 Pulitzer  Prizes in several categories including; national and local coverage and investigative reporting.  With bureaus throughout several Florida counties, Tallahassee, Washington D.C. and Miami, the paper covers state interests from the Capital, national issues and local news. The Tampa Bay Times also provides in-depth coverage of local business, politics, government and education.

Other Organizations

League of Women Voters of Florida
A nonpartisan political organization involved in a broad range of Voter Services, including voter education, ballot amendment education, and candidate forums.  They also staff polling locations and participate in Adopt-A-Precinct.

Pro / Con.org
The country's leading source for information and research on all sides of the controversial issues of the day. See 2020 Presidential Site. This site tracks the views of the candidates in the Nov. 3, 2020 presidential election. Includes all candidates who meet the criteria of having an active campaign and raising at least $10 million (excluding personal loans from the candidate). Will add new issues each month to reach at least 50 issues by Oct. 15, 2020.