LibGuides: Finding and Using Statistics: Library Resources

Statistical Abstract of the United States Print

Statistical Abstract of the United States Series
Call Number: Ref HA 202.P7 2015 (REFERENCE)
Publication Date: 2012 Last Online Publication; 2015 and current years available in Reference (2nd Floor)

Finding Books and eBooks

Palm Beach State College Library Catalog
Provides access to on-campus book collections, reserve catalog, and full-text e-Books.

Once in the catalog, sign in at the top right. You will then be able to place a hold on a book for checkout.
To search for books specifically, type in your topic/title into the search bar and choose library catalog from the dropdown choices. You can then tweak your results on the left by choosing "books" under "resource type."

For eBooks:

You can also search for eBooks in the catalog by tweaking your results to show eBooks only.

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is now a key provider of eBooks and audiobooks to libraries and other institutions worldwide. The synergy of eBooks and audiobooks with EBSCOs multifaceted collection of electronic content provides libraries with even more options for fulfilling their growing electronic information needs. Making eBook and audiobook content accessible via the popular EBSCOhost interface will provide for a more powerful, fully-integrated user experience and prove valuable to librarians, students, and researchers. EBSCO offers a rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and - eBooks - in many subject area including literature, health, science, art, history, business, social science, and multicultural studies. To search a specific title (e.g. Short Stories for Students, Drama for Students, etc.), select the publication by clicking on the "+" beside the discipline which covers it.

Searching Library Databases for Statistics

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source combines content from these high-quality databases:
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Index
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective

In addition, it includes unique full-text journals not previously available in any other database. Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text for nearly 1,200 journals. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Now includes the MeSH thesaurus. Includes 12+ million records from 9,500+ sources from 1965 to the present.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Medical & health; federal, state & international legal materials; corporate news & financial information, and more.
Statista (Statista, Inc.) This link opens in a new window
With Statista, you can access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword. Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.

Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journals

Most databases provide access to peer-reviewed journals and journal articles which provide data sets to original research. Look at the descriptions of the databases to see which ones fit your topic. To learn more about peer-reviewed journals and the peer-review process, click here.

Finding and Using Statistics: Library Resources

Statista (Library Database)

Statistical Abstract of the United States Print

Finding Books and eBooks

Searching Library Databases for Statistics