Skip to main content

Common Reader (2017-2018): I Am Malala: Malala

by Alyse McKeal (Librarian / Professor 1)

Malala

I am Stronger than Fear

Nobel Peace Prize

Malala accepted the Nobel Peace Prize on December 10, 2014 with Kailash Satyarthi.

"My great hope is that this will be the last time we must fight for the education of our children. Let us solve this once and for all."
Join her movement to see #TheLast at malala.org

Malala Yousafzai, 17, is the first Pakistani, and youngest ever recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize.

Credit: Malala Fund. December 10, 2014. Uploaded to Vimeo

Original Cite:

Malala Fund. (December 15, 2014). Malala Yousafzai's 2014 Nobel Peace Prize Speech. from https://vimeo.com/114609873 

And the Common Reader is: I am Malala

Book Review

Publishers Weekly (August 25, 2014)

Starred Review. Adapted with McCormick (Never Fall Down) from the adult bestseller, this inspiring memoir by activist Yousafzai sketches her brave actions to champion education in Pakistan under the Taliban. Her father runs a school in the Swat Valley, where Malala proves an eager student; as the Taliban gains influence, she increasingly becomes an international spokesperson for girls' right to learn. The narrative begins with a prologue in which a Taliban gunman boards her school bus and asks, "Who is Malala?" The authors then offer insight into the cultural and political events leading up to the shooting that followed and Yousafzai's dramatic recovery. Yousafzai highlights the escalating tensions as the Taliban takes hold-including the strictures against girls attending school, the obliteration of Western influence, violence, and the eventual war-but also brings the universal to life as she quarrels with her brothers, treasures her best friend, and strives to earn top grades. A glossary, color photo inserts, and an extensive timeline help establish context. It's a searing and personal portrait of a young woman who dared to make a difference.

The Girl Who Stood up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban

I come from a country that was created at midnight.  When I almost died it was just after midday.

When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to an education.

On Tuesday, October 9, 2012, when she was fifteen, she almost paid the ultimate price. She was shot in the head at point-blank range while riding the bus home from school, and few expected her to survive. 

Instead, Malala's miraculous recovery has taken her on an extraordinary journey from a remote valley in northern Pakistan to the halls of the United Nations in New York. At sixteen, she has become a global symbol of peaceful protest and the youngest nominee ever for the Nobel Peace Prize.

"I AM MALALA" is the remarkable tale of a family uprooted by global terrorism, of the fight for girls' education, of a father who, himself a school owner, championed and encouraged his daughter to write and attend school, and of brave parents who have a fierce love for their daughter in a society that prizes sons.

"I AM MALALA" will make you believe in the power of one person's voice to inspire change in the world.

<excerpt from book jacket and publisher's website>

See more at: http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/titles/malala-yousafzai/i-am-malala/9780316322409/#desc

Contact me

Rob Krull's picture
Rob Krull
Contact:
Lake Worth Campus Library

Office: LL306.4

(561) 868-3701
Website

Student Learning Outcomes

Course and Learning Outcomes: From Brigham Young University (Idaho) and Illinois Valley Community College-Outcomes

Brigham Young University

  • Students will analyze the ways in which Pakistan has been shaped by factors such as history, geography, economics, religion, natural resources, and language.
  • Students will analyze current challenges facing this volatile nation that has ancient roots.
  • Students will be able to use these same analytical skills to better understand any nation of the world from the perspective of that nation, as well as from the perspective of the United States.
  • Students will appreciate how the nations of the world are connected, develop an interest in international affairs, and see why such matters are important from a gospel perspective.
  • Compose essays suitable to various audiences and purposes using a systematic writing process

  • Organize essays with well-supported, unified, coherent paragraphs 

  • Write clearly using appropriate diction, syntax, and standard English conventions (e.g.grammar, punctuation, usage)

  • Identify sources appropriate to a given assignment

  • Read critically to understand, analyze, and evaluate the ideas of others

  • Synthesize and cite the ideas of others using the most current version of an established professional citation style

 

Illinois Valley Community College

EXPECTED LEARNING OUTCOMES AND RELATED COMPETENCIES

1. The student will reinforce word analysis and vocabulary skills.
 

1.1 The student will increase vocabulary to enhance fluency and understanding.

1.2 The student will develop a study system to extend vocabulary development.

1.3 The student will demonstrate different methods of gaining understanding

of unknown vocabulary: context, reference sources, phonics, word parts, etc.
 

2. The student will improve comprehension skills.
 

2.1 The student will use all communication modes (listening, speaking, writing,

viewing, experiencing) to enhance reading comprehension.

2.2 The student will use research sources (library, Internet, and/or interview) to enhance experiential base.

2.3 The student will identify writing patterns.

2.4 The student will identify the topic, stated and implied main

idea, and supporting details of a selection.

2.5 The student will understand diversity through reading selections, react to what is read, and generate ideas from the readings that will enhance further

understanding of the print experience.

2.6 The student will paraphrase and summarize reading selections.

3. The student will apply study skills.
 

3.1 The student will apply active reading strategies to improve comprehension.

3.2 The student will review and apply textbook reading strategies.

3.3 The student will review and apply a variety of note taking strategies.

3.4 The student will increase reading rate through increased reading and other strategies.

4. The student will apply critical reading and thinking skills to a text.
 

4.1 The student will identify varied views on a subject.

4.2 The student will identify faulty reasoning.

4.3 The student will identify bias.

4.4 The student will explain inferences in given selections.

4.5 The student will identify the themes of reading selections.

4.6 The student will analyze elements of fiction and nonfiction.

4.7 The student will apply principles learned in reading comprehension and study skills to academic life.

Discussion Questions, Lesson Plans and More

Resources for Study and Action

Girls’ Education overview

Informative Links

Statistics and Other Links

  • CBC.ca  
    Wong, E., & Lee, D. H. (October 8, 2013). Malala Yousafzai: Literacy rates in Pakistan: Statistics the 16-year-old activist is hoping to change. CBC News: World Photo Galleries. from http://www.cbc.ca/news2/interactives/malala/
     
  • DAWN.com  
    DAWN.com, Zeresh, J., Khan, S., & Zakaria, R. (October 2013). The Legend of Malala; Supporting the Possible; and How it Unfolded. from http://www.dawn.com/in-depth/in-focus-malala-wars-never-end-wars/#3
     
  • TIME  
    TIME Staff. (2013). Interactive Timeline: Malala Yousafzai’s Extraordinary Journey. from http://poy.time.com/2012/12/19/interactive-timeline-malala-yousafzai/
     
  • theguardian.com (interactive)  
    Allen, P., & Boone, J. (October 15, 2012). How Malala Yousafzai was attacked – interactive. from http://www.theguardian.com/world/interactive/2012/oct/15/malala-yousafzai-attacked-interactive
     
  • theguardian.com (interactive)
    Kuriakose, D. (October 9, 2013). Malala Yousafzai: From blogger to Nobel Peace Prize nominee – timeline. from http://www.theguardian.com/world/interactive/2013/oct/09/malala-yousafzai-timeline
     
  • The Malala Fund
    The Malala Fund. (2014). from http://www.malala.org/
     
  • My Year With Malala - by Christina Lamb  
    Lamb, C. (October 20, 2013). My Year With Malala. The Sunday Times. http://features.thesundaytimes.co.uk/public/malala/

Literacy Rates

Meet the Author: Malala Yousafzai

Under Construction

Malala Blog

Malala's Blogs

Documentaries and Videos

Malala Video with Ellen DeGeneres

NY Times

Class Dismissed: Malala Story Video, NY Times: https://www.nytimes.com/video/world/asia/100000002485983/the-making-of-malala.html

A 2009 documentary by Adam B. Ellick profiled Malala Yousafzai, a Pakistani girl whose school was shut down by the Taliban. Ms. Yousafzai was shot by a gunman on Oct. 9, 2012.  Running time:  32:17

credit: Video from The New York Times

Malala Yousafzai's November 2011 speech on education video World news guardian co uk

Library Resources

Search for All Types of Books (on a Variety of Subjects) in Our Library Catalog!

Find Books, eBooks & Library Catalog

Library Catalog & Online Databases
Provides access to on-campus book collections, reserve catalog, and full-text e-Books.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)  
Searchable collection of ebooks specifically selected for Florida's community colleges.

Books on Activism

Books on Activism available at your Palm Beach State College Library, click below:
http://union.discover.flvc.org/pc.jsp?st=activism+&ix=kw&jb=1

Search for Articles in Our Library Databases

Search for Additional Print Magazine Articles

Search library databases or browse Magazines by Title to locate possible articles.

Use in conjunction with the list of print magazines on this page.

Check to See if We Own the Print Magazine You Just Looked Up

Print magazines and newspapers are available on the 2nd Floor of the Lake Worth Campus library. 

Browsing the collection BEFORE choosing a topic is recommended.

The Lake Worth campus library keeps the current and previous year for each of the following titles:

Educational Resources and Links

Additional Resources (Pakistan, Women, and More)

Pakistani Women in Politics

From NPR's All Things Considered (May 2013)

One of the few women competing in Pakistan's parliamentary election on Saturday is Naz Baloch, 33, a first-time candidate. She's the daughter of a politician, but is running for a different party than her father.

One of the few women who competed in Pakistan's parliamentary election in May 2013 was Naz Baloch, 33, a first-time candidate. She's the daughter of a politician, but ran for a different party than her father.

Listen to the podcast HERE!

Additional resources on Pakistani women in politics:

Pakistan: A political history

  • Politics of Pakistan (part of Princeton's "Politics and government of Pakistan" series)

Some Basic Information on Pakistan

U.S. Relations with Pakistan

Educational Resources

Works by and about Malala

Resources

List of articles, books, and websites about Malala

Malala Yousafzai - Biographical. (2016, October 18). Retrieved October 19, 2016, from https://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/peace/laureates/2014/yousafzai-bio.html

Gordon brown: Malala proves one person can make A difference. (2013). Lanham: Federal Information & News Dispatch, Inc. Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1440107081?accountid=15192

Potenza, A. (2014, Sep 29). Malala the brave. Scholastic News, 83, 2. Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1610081015?accountid=15192

Lewis, K. (2015, November/December). Malala the Powerful. Storyworks, 22-25. http://www.haverford.k12.pa.us/cms/lib5/PA01001043/Centricity/
Domain/905/STORYWORKS-Malala.pdf​

Malala Yousafzai (2016). In Wikipedia. Retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malala_Yousafzai

The Editors of Encyclopædia Britannica (2016). Malala Yousafzai | Pakistani activist. In Encyclopedia Britannica. Retrieved from https://global.britannica.com/biography/Malala-Yousafzai

The Malala fund. Retrieved October 19, 2016, from https://www.malala.org/malalas-story

BBC (2014, December 10). Profile: Malala Yousafzai. BBC Asia. Retrieved from http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-23241937

Malala Yousafzai biography. (2013, July 12). Retrieved October 19, 2016, from biography, http://www.biographyonline.net/women/malala.html

BBC (2012, October 10). Malala Yousafzai: Portrait of the girl blogger. BBC Magazine. Retrieved from http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-19899540

Additional Readings and Resources

     Additional Readings (Available through the Library Webpage or through Google):

     "Her Crime Was Loving Schools" (The New York Times, October 10, 2012)

      "Malala's Nobel 'is for all girl students of Pakistan’ " (USA Today,October 10, 2014)

"Nobel winner Malala urges kids to stand up for rights" (USA Today, October 10, 2014)

“Malala Yousafzai, Youngest Nobel Peace Prize Winner, Adds to Her Achievements and Expectations” (The New York Times, October 10, 2014)

"Alarming situation of education in Pakistan" (UNESCO)

     “Pakistan’s educational challenges" (CNN, October 10, 2014)

      “The 5 Most Important Things Malala Has Done in 2014” (The Huffington Post,October 10,
      2014)

     "Malala Is Free As a Bird and a Nobel Prize Winner" (The Washington Post, October 10,  
     2014)

Readings on Ethics

College and University Websites

A Framework for Making Ethical Decisions, Santa Clara University

 

Ethical Decision Making, Western Washington University

Making Ethical Decisions, www.saylordotorg.github.io
Figure 5.4 An Example of Josephson's Model when Dealing with the Ethical Situation of Downloading Music from Share Websites.

Ethics Wordle

Credit: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Morals-and-ethics.jpg

Get Caught Reading (Taking Place Now!)

Get Caught Reading Program (sponsored by the Student Learning Center and taking place around campus)

Videos/Ted Talks

Introducing Our Common Reader Guest Speaker: Adam Ellick

Presentation Information for Adam Ellick

Adam B. Ellick, a senior international video correspondent and reporter at The New York Times, will give a presentation  entitled The Millions of Malalas: Covering Womens' Issues.  It  will take place on October 17, 9:30 – 11:00 AM, at the Palm Beach State College, Lake Worth Campus in room PSD 108.

 

Click to watch the LIVESTREAM October 17 at 9:30am

Class Dissmissed: Malala's Story

Class Dismissed: The Death of Female Education by Adam Ellick and Irfan Ashraf

Common Reader Critical Thinking Guide

Watch the Live Stream