To use PBSC library services from off campus, use your Panther Card to log onto Panther Web.
When on the Panther Web page, select the link "Library" to access PBSC's databases.
For questions on the Panther Card, see its web page.
Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.
Popular Publications versus Scholarly Journals
(3:30 Webcast) Learn about the main differences between popular publications (Time, Rolling Stone) and scholarly journals (Nature, American Journal of Physical Anthropology).
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including 9,000 Biographies from American National Biography (Oxford University Press) and many other resources.
Provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.