Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HSC 2100: Searching as part of Strategic Exploration

This LibGuide is the compliment to HSC 2100 as taught by Professor Kaleita.

Secondary Questions

Remember those questions that arose from my primary question? Well, here they are and they can help to guide your writing for this essay.  One way to look at it is that you need to answer these questions, but it works best if you have a strategy.  So, look at each sentence and select out for the keywords, that will help you decide which database to search. Develop some synonyms for your keywords. Since you are looking for reliable scholarly articles the library databases are the best place to search for reliable articles or research conducted in the area.  Make sure you check-out the author as well as the sponsorship.

Why is my lack of exercise seen as a problem and how does it relate to mortality or morbidity?   ​The highlighted words are my keywords that i will use to search a database. Now, under what broad category can i categorize these words? Doing this helps me decide on which subject database to search. I also try to understand what I am trying to accomplish by using Data as a goal vs. Data as a tool (Badke, 2014).  As a goal it usually means to explain the information; as a tool, you are looking for ways to solve the problem.  Which approach to data do you think best meets my needs?

  • Does the type of exercise that one needs, vary with age?
  • Is there a time limit associated with frequency?
  • Are there other elements involved in order to optimize my workouts?  Do i really need a power shake or water after exercise?

This is a good time to start thinking about an outline for your paper without it you may find yourself in a dead zone without any GPS and without a decent roadmap to consult.

From Review: Bardzo dobrze!! of Lost Souls Alley

Databases

Databases, for the purpose of writing a paper, are a collection of organized journal articles, trade articles and sometimes popular articles that are aggregated by a subject. They are searchable by using an organized strategy-keywords, controlled vocabulary, and Boolean search terms, truncation and a whole host of other techniques.  I only want you to be concerned with search terms and how you enter them into the query box.  Remember, in the case of searching what you put in largely determines what you get out-it is just a computer.

Keywords look for any word or word combination whereas, a subject search uses the Library of Congress headings to organize/retrieve the information.  You should be okay at this level to use keywords. The trick is in how you combine them to search.Most databases use the Boolean methodology to effectively search.

Here is a link to a  very quick video on Boolean searching:

https://youtu.be/VJNcyHB3jY4

Below are a few databases to get you started, but try to think of selecting your database based on your question.  Think of it as the main road that you have to travel.

DeWitt District Library - DeWitt, Michigan

DeWitt District Library - DeWitt, Michigan

Primary or Secondary Sources

Primary resources or sources, constitute information that is recorded directly from an event.  There are no interpretations to the information.  The information is presented regardless of time or observer.  Primary resources are concerned with just the facts, however, it may vary for say, a copy of the Constitution, where the copy would be considered a primary resource.

  • Some examples: Diaries, Government documents, transcripts or recordings of an event. Video of your child's birthday party.

Secondary resources are documents or information that has been interpreted the through the lens of another.  This means the information is now subject to interpretation by analysis or criticism.

  • Examples of Secondary Resources: Your snoopy parent who says that they are concerned about your behavior after reading your diary, a critical analysis of a poem, a second hand account of an event.

Saving your information

Remember to save your information by USB, Downloading,Saving to your account, or sending the information to yourself. Most databases have these options on the right side bar or at the top.  It often will look like this:

 

Organizing your Information