Palm Beach State College has many databases to assist you in finding reliable information for your research papers or projects. Each database contains different information on a variety of topics so it's useful to try more than one database.
To get started, select a database and enter your search term. To make a key word a phrase, add quotation marks around the words like this: "jim crow laws." Or, you can try the advanced search option: "jim crow laws" AND "South Carolina." You can narrow down your result by publication date, source type, subject and more.
If you need help deciding which database to use, or need help finding the right information, please contact me or another librarian.
Janet Naughton
Librarian, Professor I
naughtoj@palmbeachstate.edu
561-868-3989
Offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video
Full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times®, covering the period from 1851-2003.
The Civil War digital collection contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches--enabling students, faculty and patrons to study one of the key events in American history.
Freedom Flyers by 
The Cuban Missile Crisis by 
Defining Documents in American History: The 1980s (1980-1989) by 
Encountering Ellis Island by 
Overground Railroad by 
The Florida Life of Thomas Edison by 
Shoot for the Moon by 
