Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

National Parks Assignment - Professor Stemle: Articles

This guide will direct you to the resources you need to complete the National Parks assignment

Searching Instructions

You can access the databases from off-campus if you have Internet access and a PantherCard

Off-Campus instructions for logging into the databases through Pantherweb or LINCCWeb.

Search tips;

  • Use correct spelling
  • Use words, not sentences
  • Use the 'Help' feature provided by each database for search tips
  • Use Boolean logic or truncation to make your search more precise
  • Use the 'Advanced Search' feature to fit your search to your topic
  • Databases provide a citation for the information you retrieve. Take advantate of this; it's a great way to get a rough draft of your work cited page.

For an introduction to Boolean logic, try this link

www.ithacalibrary.com/sp/subjects/boolean

 

Use the Databases to Find Articles

You must be a Palm Beach State College student or employee to use the databases from off campus. For instructions on how to log in from off-campus, see instructions on this page. Here are the databases that will help you complete the National Parks project.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) On Campus | Off Campus | Put in the name of the national park you wish to study, along with any specific interest you have about the park, such as geology or ecology. Limit your search to scholarly journals to obtain research information.

American History Online (Facts On File) On Campus| Off Campus  | Tutorial
Use this database to find background information on topics such as the National Parks system and the Department of the Interior.

EBSCO eBook Collection On Campus | Off Campus
Use this link to find ebooks. Note; the collection provides travel books, which will be of limited use for this assignment, so steer clear of them.

General Science Full Text (Wilson) On Campus | Off Campus | Tutorial
This database provided access specifically to science journals. Note that National Parks journal is available in full-text.Go to the advanced search, select 'SO Journal name' as your first search option. In the next box, put in the name of the park you are studying. Everything you retrieve will be from National Parks.

JSTOR provides scholarly information, mostly retrospective; there is a delay of 1 to 5 years before articles appear on the database. Use it if you would like retrospective information. When using JSTOR, put seach terms in quotes and be sure your results are sorted by relevance.
 

Science Complete (Wilson) On Campus | Off Campus |  
Similar to General Science Full Text, this database provides a broad range of science articles.
 
Science in Context (Gale) On Campus | Off Campus |
This database provides articles, as well as videos, maps and images.You can do a basic search and select which media you would like from the left of the page. Or, you can go to the advance search and select the type of information you need.