Euratlas : Maps and pictures of Europe; free membership to euratlas-info for free downloads of maps and pictures.
WorldAtlas : Maps, descriptions, current times, flags, populations, land size, and links to other relevant sites; created by Graphic Maps, unless otherwise noted.
http://www.worldatlas.com/aatlas/world.htm
OnlineCoversion : Convert just about anything to anything else; over 5,000 units, and 50,000 conversions
http://www.onlineconversion.com/
PhysLink : Comprehensive physics and astronomy online education, research and reference web site.
Windows to the Universe : A rich array of documents, including images, movies, animations, and data sets, that explore the Earth and Space sciences and the historical and cultural ties between science, exploration, and the human experience.
OneLook : Searches 1024 dictionaries for 13,587,880 words; includes definitions, translations, wildcard searching and a reverse dictionary.
YourDictionary : Definitions, thesaurus entries, spelling, pronunciation, and etymology of words., synonyms; translationfor French, Spanish, Italian, German and hundreds of other languages.
http://www.yourdictionary.com/
LookLex : Originally known as CiAS, covers North Africa and the Middle East; reference material organized into an encyclopaedia, traveller's guides to the North African countries and a basic language course in Arabic.
Mythica : Encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion; divided in six geographical regions: Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, Middle East, and Oceania ; contains general folklore, Arthurian legends, and fascinating folktales from many lands.
ORB : European history from the Roman empire to 1300, written and maintained by medieval scholars.
best of history web sites : Over 1200 annotated history web sites that have been reviewed for quality, accuracy, and usefulness; includes oral history, history lesson plans, guides, activities, games, and quizzes
http://www.besthistorysites.net/index.shtml
Central Intelligence Agency Library : Wealth of information, from unclassified current publications to basic references, reports and maps; includes The World Factbook, an online directory of Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments, and other documents and articles of historical significance, including those found in Studies in Intelligence.
https://www.cia.gov/library/index.html
U.S. Department of State Country Background Notes : Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Internet Public Library : First public library of and for the Internet community; a global information community that provides authoritative collections, information assistance, and information instruction for the public.
Bartleby : Internet publisher of literature, reference, and verse providing unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
Luminarium : A comprehensive anthology and guide to English literature of the Middle Ages, Renaissance, Seventeenth Century, Restoration and Eighteenth Century.
GPOAccess : Official government documents from all three branches of the Federal Government
Librarians' Internet Index : Quality websites carefully selected, described, and organized by librarians; topics include current events and issues, holidays and seasons, helpful tools, human interest, etc.
The Minnesota Digital Library Coalition (MDLC) : A digital collection of Minnesota's unique resources and special collections created by professionals from libraries, archives, historical societies and museums across Minnesota
eserver : Hundreds of writers, artists, editors and scholars publish works as open archives, available free of charge to readers; founded in 1990 at Carnegie Mellon as the English Server, now based at Iowa State University; fifty collections on topics as art, architecture, race, Internet studies, sexuality, drama, design, multimedia, and current social issues.
Intute : 
Free online service providing you with a database of hand selected Web resources for education and research, includes science and technology, arts and humanities, social sciences, and health and life sciences.
Project Gutenberg : Largest single collection of free electronic books (eBooks), or eBooks. Founded by Michael Hart in 1971; Volunteer effort; most items in its collection full texts of public domain books.
http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page
refdesk 
: Free web site that indexes and reviews quality, credible, and current web-based resources on many subjects.
infoplease : Almanac with authoritative answers to all kinds of factual questions
Fast Facts : Facts like those found in an almanac or statistical abstract.
http://www.freepint.com/gary/handbook.htm
50states : Information about the states (state homepage, symbols, flags, maps, constitutions, representatives, songs, birds, flowers, trees); includes Commonwealths & Territories
iTools : Internet tools in one place - search tools, language tools, research tools, financial tools, map tools, networking & web tools.