LibGuides: Caribbean Studies Resources: Articles and Other Electronic Resources

Literature

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
(Facts on File) - Facts On File’s literature database has been thoroughly revised and expanded to include the writings of renowned literary critic Harold Bloom. In addition to Facts On File’s extensive print literature collection, the database now includes Bloom’s essays and criticism that examine the lives and works of great writers throughout time and history. This database contains an archive of more than 38,000 characters, as well as a wide range of entries on literary topics, themes, movements, and genres.

Culture and History

World Folklore and Folklife This link opens in a new window
(ABC CLIO) - The latest addition to Daily Life Online family, World Folklore and Folklife provides an exciting new gateway to social studies. Tracing the origins and development of all aspects of traditional cultures around the world, World Folklore and Folklife bridges the gap between past and present.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive business travel, telecommunications and business culture reference available in the world. The Global Road Warrior covers 175 countries in three volumes of 3,840 full-sized pages.
Credo Reference (Credo) This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 reference sources from more than 70 publishers. Integrated with journal article databases (EBSCO, Gale, JSTOR, Wilson), as well as EasyBib.
Biography Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including 9,000 Biographies from American National Biography (Oxford University Press) and many other resources.
World History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, current, authoritative, accessible, and aligned, this masterful collection of resources does more than just inform—it develops students' historical understanding, information literacy, and critical thinking skills.
Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
ALT LINK: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/palmbeachstate.edu?url=https://fod.infobase.com/

Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Arts

Music and Dance Online This link opens in a new window
Music and Dance Online delivers the largest, most diverse catalog of music content to support the teaching and research of music. The multimedia resource features works from thousands of respected partners, covers hundreds of genres from alternative rock to zydeco and from alternative dance to operatic arias, and encompasses a wide range of content formats—including scores, reference, and high definition audio and video.
Music and Dance Online currently includes over 11 million audio tracks, 2,500 hours of video, 1.3 million pages of scores, and 500,000+ pages of reference, archival primary sources, and periodicals, comprising the largest and most comprehensive online offering of in-copyright audio and video performances and scores available anywhere. Broad-ranging materials include video of live performances, audio recordings, instructional films, previously unpublished works from acclaimed playwrights, performance posters and playbills, video interviews, and choreography not seen since the time of its original performance.
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
Must login or create an ARTStor account the first time you access this database.
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
The Artstor website will be retired on Aug 1, 2024. Artstor content is currently available through JSTOR and will survive on that platform.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 150 full-text magazines and journals that are covered in indices such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide support for research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology. Many articles in full text.

Caribbean Studies Resources

Tips

Accessing the Databases

Literature

Culture and History

Arts