Directions to access the PBSC databases:
or Employee Web
Library - Quick Links on left. Employees: Library - under Misc. tab at top
then look up the Databases listed on this page.Full text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Medical & health; federal, state & international legal materials; corporate news & financial information, and more.
NexisUni - Florida statutes and cases. Full-text access to legal journals such as Harvard Law Review, Florida Bar Journal, American Business Law Journal, and more.
To locate the state statutes :
Follow #1-3 above then locate LexisNexis Under "L".
From the database - go to the top right "Search by Subject or Topic" drop-down
Under "Legal" go to "State Statutes and Regulations"
"Advanced Options" drop-down
Under "States" check the codes (Statutory, Administrative, Constitution, All) you want then check the state you want, then apply.
Enter your search terms/keywords. Be sure each time you search you apply the options you selected - you should see your advanced search options listed under the red search box.
To locate state cases:
Follow #1-3 above then locate LexisNexis Under "L".
From the database - go to the top right "Search by Subject or Topic" drop-down
Under "Legal" go to "Federal and State Cases"
"Advanced Options" drop-down
Under "States" check the state you want, then apply.
Enter your search terms/keywords. Be sure each time you search you apply the options you selected - you should see your advanced search options listed under the red search box.
Formerly InfoTrac OneFile, this database provides articles from over 8000 journals in a wide variety of subjects.
Academic OneFile (Gale) - Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes journals such as Business Law Today, Business Lawyer, American Business Law Journal, Florida Bar Journal, and Florida Law Review.
Follow #1-3 on left, then locate Academic OneFile Under "A".
Search then Limit::
Enter your search terms/keywords
When you get the results use the limiters on the right (date, subject, publication title, etc.) to narrow down your results.
** Always check to see which limiters are in effect**
Limit then Search: To search within a specific publication
Go to “Publication Search”
“List All Publications” or type in the name of the publication and search
Once you locate the publication, click on it
Enter search terms at top, drop down should be “within publication”
**Always check the search window to be sure you are still searching in the publication**
JSTOR - Access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Legal Periodicals & Books (EBSCO) - Access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more.