LibGuides: Anatomy and Physiology Resource Guide: Databases

Access Databases

Directions to access the PBSC databases:

Databases, e-books, and e-journals require you to sign-in using your student login

Sign-in to the catalog here, select A-Z databases at the top
- OR go straight to the databases and you will be prompted to login from there: A-Z Databases

Science Databases

Anatomy TV (Primal Pictures) This link opens in a new window
Click on the green "Clinical Specialties" tab to navigate to Dental Hygiene.

Derived from genuine medical scan data that has been interpreted by a team of Primal anatomists and then translated into three-dimensional images by an expert team of graphics specialists. The anatomy visuals are accompanied by three-dimensional animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedures through 19 body system modules. Includes comprehensive text, clinical and case studies, learning objectives and quizzes - all the online, supplemental material needed to support a 2-semester anatomy and physiology course.
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source combines content from these high-quality databases:
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Index
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective

In addition, it includes unique full-text journals not previously available in any other database. Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers information from scholarly, government and general-interest periodicals that cover all aspects of human impact to the environment. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
A new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text for nearly 1,200 journals. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Now includes the MeSH thesaurus. Includes 12+ million records from 9,500+ sources from 1965 to the present.
Salem Science (Salem Press) This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete content of printed reference sets.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
The Health and Life Sciences collection provides access to over 2,000 high-quality, peer-reviewed journals published by Elsevier Science.
Springer eBook Collection (Springer) This link opens in a new window
Full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s, but varies by title. Content is updated daily.
Springer eJournal Collection (Springer) This link opens in a new window
Full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s, but varies by title. Content is updated daily.
Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas (2020) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Includes the complete male and female gross anatomy with thousands of 3D models that span 11 systems: nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive.
Select "Human Anatomy Atlas".

To download the mobile app: http://ovid.visiblebody.com/mobile/
Visible Body Anatomy & Physiology (2019) This link opens in a new window
Anatomy & physiology of all 12 body systems. View brief animations that introduce complex physiology. Rotate, zoom into, and dissect 3D models of bones, organs, and tissues.
Select "Anatomy & Physiology".

To download the mobile app: http://ovid.visiblebody.com/mobile/

Subscription Databases

To access databases and e-books from Off-Campus locations you must be a current Palm Beach State College student, faculty member, or staff member.