African-American HeritageInfobase's African-American Heritage Topic Center from African-American History.
African American Experience (ABC CLIO)This link opens in a new windowThe widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field.
American History (ABC-CLIO)This link opens in a new windowThis resource-rich reference and curriculum solution helps students understand the issues, perspectives, and history that have shaped our nation.
American History Online (Infobase)This link opens in a new windowSpans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience. Includes biographies, primary sources, maps, timelines, images, descriptions of events, themes, organizations, places, and cultural developments in American history.
American Indian Experience (ABC-CLIO)This link opens in a new windowFull-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. Offers full-text access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. From prehistory to the present day, from the Inuit of the north to the Seminoles of Florida.
Global Issues (Gale In Context)This link opens in a new windowOffers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Latino American Experience (ABC-CLIO)This link opens in a new windowVirtual library of over 200 volumes of content dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos - the largest and fastest-growing minority in the U.S. LAE features several recently published reference products from Greenwood, Arte Publico Press, Indiana University press and Columbia University.
Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO)This link opens in a new windowA digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present. Covers new technology (iPods, gaming, gadgets), Internet memes and chatspeak, movies, TV, radio, music, comics and graphic novels, sports and pastimes, fads, fashion, fast food and more.
World Folklore and FolklifeThis link opens in a new window(ABC CLIO) - The latest addition to Daily Life Online family, World Folklore and Folklife provides an exciting new gateway to social studies. Tracing the origins and development of all aspects of traditional cultures around the world, World Folklore and Folklife bridges the gap between past and present.
World Geography (ABC-CLIO)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, current, authoritative, accessible, and aligned, this masterful collection of resources does more than just inform—it develops students' historical understanding, information literacy, and critical thinking skills.
World Religions (ABC-CLIO)This link opens in a new window(ABC CLIO) - World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy
Music and Dance OnlineThis link opens in a new windowMusic and Dance Online delivers the largest, most diverse catalog of music content to support the teaching and research of music. The multimedia resource features works from thousands of respected partners, covers hundreds of genres from alternative rock to zydeco and from alternative dance to operatic arias, and encompasses a wide range of content formats—including scores, reference, and high definition audio and video.
Music and Dance Online currently includes over 11 million audio tracks, 2,500 hours of video, 1.3 million pages of scores, and 500,000+ pages of reference, archival primary sources, and periodicals, comprising the largest and most comprehensive online offering of in-copyright audio and video performances and scores available anywhere. Broad-ranging materials include video of live performances, audio recordings, instructional films, previously unpublished works from acclaimed playwrights, performance posters and playbills, video interviews, and choreography not seen since the time of its original performance.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Offers users the ability to search with a single query, one, several or all of the available Thomson Gale databases.
Films on Demand (Infobase)This link opens in a new windowALT LINK: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/palmbeachstate.edu?url=https://fod.infobase.com/
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
Gale eBooksThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and - eBooks - in many subject area including literature, health, science, art, history, business, social science, and multicultural studies. To search a specific title (e.g. Short Stories for Students, Drama for Students, etc.), select the publication by clicking on the "+" beside the discipline which covers it.
Recognizing that ethnic differences are transforming American education expectations, political ideals and popular culture, Gale presents a vital, new multicultural reference. Gale Encyclopedia Of Multicultural America contains 152 original essays (about 8, 000-12, 000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The Encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Each essay has a listing of organizations and research centers; names addresses and contact information for periodicals, radio and television stations; and a list of suggestions for further reading. Also featured is a general annotated bibliography with over 100 items regarding multiculturalism. Its scope, combined with consistent headings throughout each essay, and more than 250 photographs and illustrations and subject index combine to make it the most complete and accessible source available.
