Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access Repositories
OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories
Search for repositories or search repository contents.
Registry of Open Access Repositories: ROAR
"The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world."
"... search through all UK repositories of freely available research information, with the assurance that each of these repositories has been assembled by these institutions for the purposes of disseminating academically relevant research information."
Open Access Government Reports & Publications
FDsys (Federal Digital System)
"America's authentic government information."
Congressional Research Services Reports for the People.
U.S. legislative information on the Internet with full text access to house and senate bills and reports.
Open Access Journals and Directories
ABC Chemistry: Free Full Text Journals in Chemistry
Part A. Permanently available chemical journals. Part B: Trials and temporarily available chemical journals.
"...provides free access to research information to the international community without financial, legal or technical barriers." Journal categories include medical sciences, social sciences, biological sciences, agricultural sciences, physical sciences, engineering, arts & education, legal studis and other journals.
African Journals Online
African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.
"Peer reviewed bioscience journals published in developing countries." Active journals listed by country.
BioMed Central: The Open Access Publisher
"Publisher of 207 peer-reviewed open access journals."
Digital Library and Archives
"DLA provides access to scholarly electronic serials that are peer-reviewed, full text, and accessible without charge. Their topics range from education, engineering, and literature to technology, philosphy and libraries. Most titles are available in both PDF and HTML."
Directory of Open Access Journals: DOAJ
"... free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals"
"Providing links to the world's electronic journals." Provides lists of e-journals by subject, special featured journals and sites.
"Established in 2003, E-LIS is an international Open Archive for Library and Information Science (LIS)."
Electronic Library of Mathematics (ELibM)
"The Electronic Library of Mathematics contains online journals, article collections, monographs, and other electronic resources in the field of mathematics."
Free Medical Journals
"Promoting free access to medical journals."
GeoRef Information Services
Open Access Journals/Series. American GeoSciences Institute
HighWire (Stanford University)
"HighWire Press partners with independent scholarly publishers, societies, associations, and university presses to facilitate the digital dissemination of 1565 journals, reference works, books, and proceedings."
"The directory of scholarly ejournals in the arts & humanities."
Library Publishing Media
"....an open-access publisher based at Oxford (UK) - was established in support of the global open-access movement, and to promote excellence in biomedical sciences.
Open Access Digital Library
Access to over 4,000 full text, scholarly journals in a variety of subjects.
Open Access Journals Search Engine (OAJSE)
"An Open Access E-Journal Portal of Krishna Kanta Handiqui State Open University." Wide variety of searchable subject categories of open access journals.
Open Access Legal Journals
A-Z directory of popular legal journals providing open access. Maintained by Charlotte School of Law
Open Humanities Press
"...Open Humanities Press is n "International open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought freely available worldwide."
"Organic Eprints is an international open access archive for papers and projects related to research in organic food and farming. The archive contains full-text papers in electronic form together with bibliographic information, abstracts and other metadata. It also offers information on organisations, projects and facilities in the context of organic farming research."
"Titles participating in the Oxford Open scheme are broadly included in one of two open access models, either full or optional open access. All open access articles are automatically deposited in PubMed Central (PMC) by Oxford Journals."
PLoS Journals (Public Library of Science)
Peer reviewed journals in all areas of science, medicine, biology, genetics and more.
Open access dissertations and theses from ProQuest.
"Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine"
"Especially conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries, it provides an efficient way to assure universal visibility and accessibility to their scientific literature, contributing to overcome the phenomena known as 'lost science'.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
"...composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences."