Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Developing a Topic Videos
Research Companion (ProQuest)
ProQuest's new cloud-based information literacy solution, ProQuest® Research Companion, is a one-stop resource that guides high school, community college, and university students through research projects, helping them overcome typical barriers. Easy, intuitive, and informative, ProQuest Research Companion enables students to move through projects such as research papers efficiently, generating better research outcomes and reducing frustration.
Logging on from Home
Logging on with borrower ID and password/pin
There are two ways you can log on from home. The first is to use the barcode and password/pin when you first click on an off campus link. The barcode is the 24901....... number on the back of your PantherCard. The password/pin is your two digit month and year of your date of birth (mmyy).
Logging in using PantherWeb
You can also log on by going to PantherWeb and clicking on Library. That will take you to our catalog. There is a link under the search box for Research Guides.
Background Research Databases
Credo Reference (Credo)
A collection of over 500 reference sources from more than 70 publishers. Integrated with journal article databases (EBSCO, Gale, JSTOR, Wilson), as well as EasyBib.
Provides access to more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and - eBooks - in many subject area including literature, health, science, art, history, business, social science, and multicultural studies. To search a specific title (e.g. Short Stories for Students, Drama for Students, etc.), select the publication by clicking on the "+" beside the discipline which covers it.
Argumentative Research Databases
CQ Researcher Plus Archives (CQ Press)
Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher — dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports
Gale In Context: Global Issues
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase)
Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Indepth Research Databases
ABI/INFORM is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for over 3,730 publications, with more than 2,670 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels.
Offers users the ability to search with a single query, one, several or all of the available Thomson Gale databases.
Make an Appointment
Make an appointment with a librarian to submit your paper for citation review or meet with a librarian live. Use the link below for WC Online. To schedule your first appointment, create an account and log-in. You can select from the list of librarians, and schedule by date and time.
1. Sign in with your Panther username and password.
2. New user? Create an online account to make an appointment with a Librarian.
3. Returning user? Sign-in to make an appointment with a Librarian.
Note: if you are a returning user and you originally registered an account with your personal email, you will need to create a new account using your Panther email.