LibGuides: Critical Book Reviews: Find Book Reviews

Research Strategy

Book reviews may be searched in numerous databases, such as:

Jstor
Lexis Nexis
Academic Search Complete
Book Review Digest

To identify a critical book review, Jstor is without exception, focused on the critical review. Academic Search Complete and Lexis Nexis have search limitors to enable book review searching. Lexis Nexis searches hundreds of newspapers worldwide with many critical reviews written for major newspapers such as the New York Time, Washington Post and The Guardian.

The Library Catalog interface is also useful for locating book reviews, since the all-in-one search permits a limitor for book reviews.

Gathering Resources

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video
History Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of historical eBook titles covering global topics from the ancient world through today.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times®, covering the period from 1851-2003.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Medical & health; federal, state & international legal materials; corporate news & financial information, and more.

Searching for Specific Journal Titles

Are you looking for a specific journal title in the College online journal collection? For example, does the library have an electronic subscription to the Wall Street Journal?

It's easy to find out with Full-text Finder. Simply enter the title of the journal in the "Find Titles" box.

You can also search the journal collection for a subject area, for example, all "education" titles.

Full-Text Publication Finder (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides links to all of your librarys e-resources, including e-journals, titles in full-text databases and e-journal packages, and eBooks. Full-Text Finder offers users a one-stop search of your library's e-collection, with easy navigation to full-text content.