Skip to main content

ENC 1101 Prof. Osterman (Palm Beach Gardens)

Prof. Osterman's Assignment

For this assignment, you will start by selecting and then reading one of the following articles from the Issues & Controversies database.

  • "To What Extent Should Women Be Allowed Access to Abortion in the United States? (March 20, 2018)
  • "Do Animals have Rights Similar to Those of Humans?" (Sept. 3, 2012)
  • "Should Capital Punishment Be Allowed in the United States?" (Jan. 9, 2019)
  • "Should the United States Use Drones Militarily and for Law Enforcement? (Jan. 23, 2012)
  • "Should the United States Adopt Stronger Gun Control Laws? (Jan. 7, 2019)
  • "Do Social Networking Websites Positively Impact the World?" (Sept. 17, 2012)
  • "Violent Video Games" (Apr. 28, 2014)

Next, look for at least one "pro" and one "con" article on that topic in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center database.

  • Click BROWSE ISSUES on the top right of the homepage for a list of suggested topics including Abortion,  Animal Experimentation,  Animal Rights, Capital Punishment, Drones, Gun Control,  Online Social Networks, and Video Games.
  • Pro/Con articles will be found in the Featured Viewpoints or Viewpoints section.

Another great resource is the Points of View database.

  • Click SHOW ALL in the blue ribbon in the center of the page. Choose you topic from the list, and you will be taken  to an overview of the  topic. To the right will be a Point and a Counterpoint article.  Related articles can be accessed from he box on the left.

Need more? You may want to try…

  • ProCon.org 
    Nonpartisan website devoted to the discussion of the pros and cons of controversial issues. This website currently has coverage of Abortion, Animal Testing, Death Penalty (Capital Punishment), Drones, Social Networking and Video Games and Violence

Favorite Library Databases

Most of our periodicals are now stored and accessed through online subscription databases, which require logons when using off-campus. 

To access our databases, ​​start at the Library's website and click on A-Z Databases. After choosing a resource, you will be prompted to log in with your Panther ID and password.

Just getting started?  You may want to try:

  • Gale PowerSearch: Convenient "one-stop shopping" through multiple databases, providing a wide range of articles from books, magazines, journals and multimedia. TIP: After performing a search, start with the BOOK link to get a good overview of your topic from reliable reference books.
  • Credo Reference: Access to a collection of reference books from high-quality publishers.

Other favorites:

  • Academic OneFile (Gale) 
    Provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)  Designed specifically for academic institutions,  this is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.Contains articles in many areas of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. 
  • New York Times  (Newsbank)
    Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary.Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. 
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale):
    Provides resources for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.  Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.