Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To use PBSC library services from off campus, use your Panther Card to log onto Panther Web.
When on the Panther Web page, select the link "Library" to access PBSC's databases.
For questions on the Panther Card, see its web page.
What is a database?
Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.
Popular Periodicals versus
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Biography Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including 9,000 Biographies from American National Biography (Oxford University Press) and many other resources.
Consumer Reports.org (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The largest paid-publication subscription-based website in the world is available to libraries from EBSCO Publishing.
CQ Researcher Plus Archives (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher — dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, biographical reference database covering people in literature, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events and the arts.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
ProQuest All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
Large aggregated full-text database totaling more than 11,250 titles—with over 8,400 titles in full text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets.
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. Many articles in full-text.