LibGuides: SLS 1501 (Prof. Lachish Rigg-Lake Worth): Library

Search Tips

The online catalog helps you find books, e-books, streaming media and more. (The databases are still the best for finding magazine, newspaper and journal articles.)

Logon to the library catalog here. Sign-in at the top right for full access

For print or ebooks, choose the "Library Catalog" tab at the top of query box. Type in a search term--it can be a topic, the title of a book, or an author's name. If you want to search only one campus, change "Palm Beach State College" to your preferred campus. Click "SEARCH."

When the results appear, look in the left panel called "Narrow Results". Check "Books in the Library" to get results for print books. To find eBooks, click the gray "eBooks" tab above the search box; your search will be reformulated to get books which have been digitized.

Finding Books and eBooks

Palm Beach State College Library Catalog
Provides access to on-campus book collections, reserve catalog, and full-text e-Books.

Once in the catalog, sign in at the top right. You will then be able to place a hold on a book for checkout.
To search for books specifically, type in your topic/title into the search bar and choose library catalog from the dropdown choices. You can then tweak your results on the left by choosing "books" under "resource type."

For eBooks:

You can also search for eBooks in the catalog by tweaking your results to show eBooks only.

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is now a key provider of eBooks and audiobooks to libraries and other institutions worldwide. The synergy of eBooks and audiobooks with EBSCOs multifaceted collection of electronic content provides libraries with even more options for fulfilling their growing electronic information needs. Making eBook and audiobook content accessible via the popular EBSCOhost interface will provide for a more powerful, fully-integrated user experience and prove valuable to librarians, students, and researchers. EBSCO offers a rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and - eBooks - in many subject area including literature, health, science, art, history, business, social science, and multicultural studies. To search a specific title (e.g. Short Stories for Students, Drama for Students, etc.), select the publication by clicking on the "+" beside the discipline which covers it.

Online Reference

Credo Reference (Credo) This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 500 reference sources from more than 70 publishers. Integrated with journal article databases (EBSCO, Gale, JSTOR, Wilson), as well as EasyBib.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and - eBooks - in many subject area including literature, health, science, art, history, business, social science, and multicultural studies. To search a specific title (e.g. Short Stories for Students, Drama for Students, etc.), select the publication by clicking on the "+" beside the discipline which covers it.