Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PBSC Library's Electronic Resources (Loxahatchee Groves): What databases are available?

A guide created for Loxahatchee Campus students

Sample Databases available at PBSC Libraries

Palm Beach State College Libraries subscribes to over 100 databases.  Below is a sampling of databases available along with brief tutorials of each.  For a full listing of our databases, see the A-Z list of databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost is a great place to start your research.  This database searches full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals from a variety of subject areas.  EBSCOhost databases enable advanced search techniques such as boolean search operators. See the tutorial video to the right for a basic overview of searching this database.

 

EBSCOhost icon

eBooks (EBSCO)

EBSCOhost logo Users can search and read eBooks through the eBooks database from EBSCO, right on their device.  See the tutorial on the right for how to search for eBooks. 

 

 

 

Additionally, you can also search the library's eBooks collection by selecting the eBooks tab from the library catalog (see screenshot below).

 

 

eBooks Screenshot (Catalog)

Films on Demand (Streaming Video)

Films on Demand is a database that is full of educational streaming videos.  It provides access to tens of thousands of titles that are searchable by keywords or browsable by subject.  Users need an internet connection and computer or other device to watch videos online.  See the video to the right for more information on this database.

Films on Demand Icon

Mango Languages

Mango Languages Icon

Mango Languages is a database to interactively learn a new language.  It teaches 72 languages, and courses are taught using the student's native language.  Students can practice pronunciation, watch videos, and go through conversational activities to practice speaking and listening in a new language.

*Note that this database is best used for students learning a new language as it covers basic and intermediate material.  For students whose native language is not English who need to improve their English, see the databases PrepStep (Core English Skills Review Center OR Placement Test Preparation - TOEFL) or the database Testing and Education Reference Center from GALE (International Tools - TOEFL) . 

 

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

eBooks (EBSCO)

Films on Demand (Streaming Video)

Mango Languages Tutorial