LibGuides: The Information Cycle: Scholarly Journals

Scholarly Journals

Advantages:

Research by experts in their field and reviewed by peers
Comprehensive analysis on a very specific topic
Bibliography of cited works can lead to other relevant sources
Writing contains specialized language

Disadvantages:

Usually only available by subscription or through libraries
Published less frequently than popular magazines
Focus of article may be too narrow for general research needs

Scholarly Journal Article

Find Scholarly Journals @ The Library

The Library subscribes to over a hundred databases to help you find articles.

Palm Beach State College Library Databases

Tip: When searching within specific databases, look for options to limit to peer-reviewed journals. Try this out with Academic OneFile or Academic Search Complete.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (University of North Carolina)

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Formerly InfoTrac OneFile, this database provides articles from over 8000 journals in a wide variety of subjects.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.