Databases are the place to look if you want magazine or journal articles on a specific topic. You can search through multiple magazines and journals with one search. Databases require logins when using off-campus.
The following databases provide information in the health field.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
The worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Health & Wellness (Gale)
Provides access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Also includes the Alternative Health suite of resources.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
An advanced interface to the full-text nursing and allied health journals found in the Health & Wellness Resource Center. Does not include reference sources or the Alternative Health suite of resources.
Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Features full text for nearly 160 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men's Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.
Lippincott Nursing Advisor
Lippincott Advisor is a collection of evidence-based content that provides practicing nurses with instant access to online references at the point of care. The program allows users to identify the information they need quickly and easily. Nurses can browse by topic or category, scroll through alphabetical lists of monographs, or perform a search to identify a particular monograph. Each entry includes extensive cross-reference hypertext links between and within content sets.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
Full text for nearly 1,200 journals. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Now includes the MeSH thesaurus. Includes 12+ million records from 9,500+ sources from 1965 to the present.
Nursing Collection (Ovid)
A subset of the larger Journals@Ovid database that is limited to only the journals to which your institution subscribes, for when a user wants to see only the citations to which they have access. It provides all of the basic functionality of Journals@Ovid, including 100% searchability, seamless integration with databases, and the ability to browse by journal and by subject.
Ophthalmology Book Collection (OVID)
This collection features high-quality titles covering a range of sub-specialties in ophthalmology, including Duane's Ophthalmology, Will's Eye Manual, and Henderson's Orbital Tumors.
Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
Sage Journals (Sage Publications)
SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.
Salem Health (Salem Press)
All of the content in Magill's Medical Guide and Salem Health: Cancer is available online, including illustrations and sidebars, indexes, appendixes and other back matter.
Access over 21,000 eBooks and eJournals in a variety of disciplines from Architecture & Design, Behavioral Science, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics and Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, Computing and Web Design. Download entire books and journals onto eReaders.
Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Includes the complete male and female gross anatomy with thousands of 3D models that span 11 systems: nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive.
Visible Body Anatomy & Physiology
Anatomy & physiology of all 12 body systems. View brief animations that introduce complex physiology. Rotate, zoom into, and dissect 3D models of bones, organs, and tissues.
The following databases are freely available over the internet:
PubMed® comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
The following journals are available only to Palm Beach State College students, faculty and staff. To find out which database stores the journal, and the time period covered, go to:
(To access a journal you must first be logged in to the PBSC Library.)
American Journal of Ophthalmology
Clinical and Experimental Ophthalmology
Community Eye Health
European Journal of Ophthalmology
Glokom-Katarakt/Journal of Glaucoma-Cataract
Indian Journal of Ophthalmology
Journal of American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus
Journal of Current Glaucoma Practice
Journal of Ophthalmology
Journal of Optometry
Journal of Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus
Journal of Refractive Surgery
Middle East African Journal of Ophthalmology
Oman Journal of Ophthalmology
Open Ophthalmology Journal
Ophthalmic & Physiological Optics
Ophthalmic Surgery, Lasers, and Imaging Retina
Retina-Vitreus/Journal of Retina-Vitreous
Review of Cornea & Contact Lenses
Review of Ophthalmology
Review of Optometry
Seminars in Ophthalmology
Survey of Ophthalmology
Transactions of the American Ophthalmological Society