The Digital Atlas of Ophthalmology
A database of images drawn from the vast clinical experience of The New York Eye and Ear Infirmary specialists and their colleagues around the world. The Digital Atlas is intended to serve as a visual reference and educational supplement for ophthalmologists, general physicians, and medical students.
National Eye Institute
A searchable database which contains photos, images and videos of eye anatomy, conditons and diagnosis and treatments.
A non-profit, web-based resource library of images and presentation material illuminating the study of visual perception. All images are given freely by the vision research community and are available for educational, non-profit use only.
All About Vision: Video Learning Center
Provides many videos in these general categories: Contact Lens, Eye Problems and Diseases, Eyewear and General Vision
Cow Eye Dissection
At the Exploratorium, we dissect cows’ eyes to show people how an eye works. This Web site shows photos and videos of a dissection.
Ophthalmology's leading source for high quality, fully narrated ophthalmic surgical videos.
This site is dedicated to teaching gonioscopy through the use of videography. It covers the basic examination techniques and more advanced techniques, such as indentation and the corneal wedge. There are video examples of most glaucoma-related diseases.
Instructional Video: Contact Lens Insertion and Removal
These videos review the insertion and removal techniques for soft, gas permeable, and scleral contact lenses from both a patient and practitioner point of view.
National Eye Institute: Photos, Images, and Videos
A searchable collection of non-copyright images.
This website is chock-full of eye videos taken at the slit-lamp. Here you’ll find movies covering a wide variety of ocular pathology, ranging from the cornea all the way back to the retina. This non-profit website is intended to help eye care providers improve their clinical skills. Use these videos to familiarize yourself with basic eye findings, see uncommon conditions, and potentially improve your PowerPoint presentations (and thus educate others). None of these videos should be construed as medical advice. If you have eye difficulties, please consult an eye doctor that you trust.
These learning objects are dependent on Flash and other applications, and may not work on all computers. If they don't play properly, try a different browser. i.e., try Firefox instead of Chrome, etc.
Albany Medical College Virtual Brain Model
A 3D MRI-Derived Virtual Brain Atlas for Neuroanatomy Teaching and Learning, made available for educational, non-commercial use, at no charge, as a public service by Albany Medical College.
This diagram is a useful jumping off point to get a quick idea of the basic anatomy of the eye
The Neuro-Ophthalmology Virtual Education Library
A discipline specific, open access repository of digital materials (images, video, lectures, articles and animations), to be used for educational and research purposes by health care professionals, educators, patients, and students.
The Sense of Sight
Animated explanation of the eye from Wisconsin Online