Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for Sociology Students: Articles

Contact Librarian: Raychell Harris, 561-868-3712

General Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Contains articles from nearly 4,500 journals in many areas of academic study including psychology
On Campus | Off Campus (LINCCWeb) | PantherWeb

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Includes more than 14,000 titles, with 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. It also includes key, peer-reviewed journals published in Spanish, French and other languages and the ability to translate all content to 11 different languages.
On Campus | Off Campus (LINCCWeb) | PantherWeb

Omnifile Full-Text Mega Edition (Wilson)
The full text
of articles from more than 2,200 publications (many of them peer-reviewed) from a wide range of disciplines, as far back as 1994
On Campus | Off Campus (LINCCWeb) | PantherWeb

Subject Specific Databases


Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
Provides access to more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and - eBooks - in many subject area including medicine and psychology. Particularly good in researching a mental disorder.
On Campus | Off Campus (LINCCWeb) | PantherWeb

Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson)

Includes over 625 periodicals as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed covering the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
On Campus | Off Campus (LINCCWeb) | PantherWeb

Other databases that could be used for social issues (Log in to your PantherWeb to access them):

African American Experience (Greenwood Electronic Media)       

American Indian Experience (Greenwood Electronic Media)

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index (ProQuest)

CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press)

DemographicsNow (Gale)

Issues and Controversies (Facts on File) 

JSTOR

Latino American Experience (Greenwood Electronic Media)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

Pop Culture Universe (ABC CLIO)

Springer e-journal collection -Sociology

Off-Campus Access

 

To be automatically authenticated to use all our database just:

·         Log in to your PantherWeb

·         Click on the lower left hand the icon  Library

·         The search box is for our catalog

·         On the top of the page click on Database A-Z

·         Select a database

Another way to log in Off Campus:

·         Click on Articles and Databases on Library Homepage

·         Select Database and Click on Off-Campus

·         Your borrower ID is the card number located on the back of your PantherCard.  It begins with 2490...

·         Do not use your Palm Beach State Student ID Number

·         Your PIN is your four digit birth month and year (MMYY)

·         If this does not work, try the last four digits of your Social Security