Holocaust Resources: Holocaust: Web Sites

ART, POETRY AND MUSIC OF THE HOLOCAUST   

• Artistic Responses: Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies, University of Minnesota 
  The Virtual Museaum provides direct access to materials such as slides, film, video and audio tapes for use in Holocaust and genocide education.
• Art of the Holocaust, Including Exhibitions 
  Links from this site provide comprehensive information on art, artixts and exhibitions.
• Art of the Ghettos and Camps  
  The record left by ghetto dwellers, camp internees, and displaced persons create snapshots of life and death under Hitler. Professional and amateur artists of all genres recorded what they saw and experienced during the reign of the Third Reich.
• Famous Poets and Poems: Holocaust Poems 
  A Collection of Holocaust Poems and Poetry from the famous poets.
• Holocaust Poetry 
  A number of unique pages of poetry, art and essays about the Holocaust published by "The Hypertext"  online magazine.
• Music of the Ghettos and Camps 
  Provides links to information about  music related to the Holocaust, biographies of musicians and recorded presentations.

CAMPS 

• Auschwitz: Inside the Nazi State 
  The site of the single largest mass murder in the hisotry of humanity is explored at this PBS website.
• Auschwitz: Technique and Operation of the Gas Chambers
  A reproduction of the seminal work by Jean-Claude Pressac on the Holocaust History Project website.
• Concentration and Death Camps 
  Provides a list of many camps, with links to more detailed information. Also provides their date of establishment, function, date of liberation and estimates of the number of victims.  
• The List of Camps      
  Provides a listing by geogrphical location of hundreds of concentration camps established by the Nazis.

FORCED AND SLAVE LABOR     

• Forced and Slave Labor in Nazi-Dominated Europe      
  A symposium organized by the Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Nine scholars (including Christopher Browning) and one Romaian survivor presented new research.
• German Firms That Used Slave or Forced Labor During the Nazi Era.
  A list researched by the American Jewish Committee whose goal is  " not to judge guilt or to single out guilty parties but to call the attention of current companies to their moral responsibility for settling the accounts of the past and compensate workers who suffered under their company's current or previous name or at their site of production."

GENERAL SITES      

• Remember.org : A Cybrary of the Holocaust      
  An educational community of contributors (survivors, liberators, historians, and authors), sharing the best research resources and stories through art, photography, painting, audio/video, and remembrance.
• The Holocaust and the United Nations Outreach Program      
  The primary multi-media resources, source materials and briefing notes on this site will enable users to enhanve their understanding of this watershed event in world history.
• Yad Vashem, the Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority      
  Containing the world's largest repository of information on the Holocaust, Yad Vashem is a leader in Shoah education, commemoration, research and documentation.

HISTORY  AND GEOGRAPHY  

• The Holocaust History Project      
  The Holocaust History Project is a free archive of documents, photographs, recordings, and essays regarding the Holocaust, including direct refutation of Holocaust-denial.
• The History Place: Holocaust Tiimeline      
  Chronologically lists major events during the Holocaust, and provides links to more detailed information.
• Jewish Virtual Center: Holocaust & World War II Maps      
  Links to over 70 maps related to the Holocaust and  Europe during World War II.

HOLOCAUST DENIAL

• Holocaust Denial
  An overview of Holocaust revisionism, describing the the movement, its history, and its leading activists, as well as a review of legal and scholarly responses to this propaganda; (2) a summary of the movement's most common allegations, with brief factual responses, and (3) a selection of quotes by the leading propagandists, demonstrating their anti-Semitic and pro-Nazi agendas.
• Holocaust Denial on Trial 
  The website by Emory University and the Rabbi Donald A. Tam Institute for Jewish Studies provides Myth/Fact sheets [which]concisely analyze each of the deniers' arguments and refute them with high quality scholarship, and an online archive of trial documents from Professor Deborah Lipstadt's legal battle with Holocaust denier David Irving.
• The Nizkor Project      
  A site dedicated to educate about the Holocaust, and examine and refute the phenomenon of "Holocaust Denial."

MUSEUMS  

• Auschwitz-Berkenau Museum 
  The Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum was created by an act of the Polish parliament on July 2, 1947, and includes the grounds of two extant parts of the Auschwitz I and Auschwitz II-Birkenau concentration camps.  
• The United States Holocaust Museum      
  A living memorial to the Holocaust, the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum stimulates leaders and citizens to confront hatred, prevent genocide, promote human dignity, and strengthen democracy.
• Simon Weisenthal Center: Museum of Tolerance
  The Museum of Tolerance provides a unique and provocative experience that challenges visitors to become witnesses to history, confront the dynamic of intolerance that is still embedded in society today.
• The Holocaust Memorial      
  Miami Beach, FL
• The Holocaust Documentation and Education Center      
  Hollywood, FL
• Yad Vashem, the Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority      
  Jerusalem. Containing the world's largest repository of information on the Holocaust, Yad Vashem is a leader in Shoah education, commemoration, research and documentation.

NON-JEWISH VICTIMS

• Homosexuals
  Provides links to an in-depth brochure, photos, eye-witness accounts of the treatment of homosexuals and otherrelated  informaiton.
• Nazi Persecution of the Disabled: Murder of "The Unfit" 
  A special focus page and related links from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.
• Non-Jewsih Survivors and Vistims 
  Questions and Answers on this topic provided by the Holocasut History Project.
• The Patrin Web Journal: The Holocaust 
  Provides links to essays, graphics and other documentation of the persecution of the gypsies (Roma).
• Sinti and Roma
  In-depth articles and links to other information on the fate of the Roma.

PHOTOGRAPHS 

• Archival Ghetto and Camp Photographs     
  Nineteen  virtual galleries of photographs document many ghettos, camps and other aspects of the Holocaust.
• Jewish Virtual Center: Photographs      
  Links to many photographs which document the Holocaust.
• Pictures of the Holocaus
  An About.com site which categorizes and links to many images.
• Other Archival Photographs 
  Twelve galleries of photos show Nazi leaders, the Berlin Olympics, the damage of Kristallnacht, invasion of Poland and more.

SURVIVORS  AND  VICTIMS

• The Central Database of Shoah Victims' Names Yad Vashem, together with its partners, has collected and recorded the names and biographical details of half of the six million Jews murdered by the Nazis and their accomplices. This database is searchable by family/maiden name, fisrt name, location, and other details.
• Hearing Voices: Shoah      
  Presents stories of survivors and survivor interviews. In a live May 1945 BBC report survivors from the just liberated "Belsen Concentration Camp" sing Hebrew for the first time in years.
• Holocaust Research (genealogy)
  Tips and sources for researching victims and survivors.
• Jewish Partisan Educational Foundation  The largest on-line resource for information about the Jewish partisans, bringing together short films, video clips, 3-D environments, curriculum, study guides, biographies, and interactive opportunities.
• USC Shoah Foundation institute      
  Steven Spielberg (in association with the University of Southern California) provide nearly 52,000 visual history testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust videotaped in 56 countries and in 32 languages.