Holocaust Resources: Holocaust: Articles

The library has many subscription databases which provide full-text articles from over 50,000 magazines, scholarly journals, national and local newspapers. ​​Start at the Library's website and click on A-Z Databases. After choosing a resource, you will be prompted to log in with your Panther ID and password.

Suggested databases for articles on Holocaust Studies:

• Academic OneFile (Gale)  
  Formerly InfoTrac OneFile, this database provides articles from over 8000 journals in a wide variety of subjects.  
• Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
  Contains articles from nearly 4,500 journals in many areas of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. 
• Biography Resource Center (Gale)  
  Comprehensive, biographical reference database covering people in literature, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events and the arts.
• Gale in Context: World History
  An online tool for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The product merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
• Gale Power Search 
  Offers users the ability to search with a single query, one, several or all of the available Thomson Gale databases.
• History Reference Center (EBSCO)  
  Offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video. 
• Humanities Full Text (Wilson) 
  Indexes over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology. Many articles in full text. 
• JSTOR 
  Provides an archive of full-text scholarly journals from Arts & Sciences I & II, Ecology & Botany, and General Science collections. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
• Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) 
  Offers a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies. Military Library FullTEXT provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for over 350 magazines. 
• New York Times Historical (ProQuest) 
  Full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times®, covering the period from 1851-2003.
• Omnifile Full Text Mega (Wilson) 
  Offers full text periodicals, along with article abstracts and indexing, covering business, education, science, social sciences, art, humanities and plus popular magazines.
• Social Sciences (Wilson) 
  Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. 
• World Almanac (Facts.com) 
  Includes the full text of all of the current Almanac titles: The World Almanac and Book of Facts, providing key facts on a wide variety of subjects internationally; The World Almanac of the U.S.A. with essential facts about the United States--current and historical; The World Almanac of US Politics, a guidebook to federal, state, and local governments; The World Almanac for Kids, covering information and facts of interest to middle-school children and teachers; and the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia, a comprehensive general encyclopedia. Updated annually.    

Databases collect and store articles from magazines, journals and newspapers, and allow you to search for articles by topic. Some suggested search terms to use are:

• Antisemitism
• Auschwitz
• Buchenwald
• Concentration Camps
• Dachau
• Holocaust
• Holocaust  Survivors
• Jews and Persecutions
• Jewish and World War, 1939-1945
• Kindertransport
• Terezín

After finding an article that interests you, look for a link like HTML Full Text  or  PDF Full Text to retrieve the entire article.  If no such link appears, you may have found the  record of an article, but we do not subscribe to the full-text of that particular magazine or journal.  We can borrow most articles from other libraries.  Please see a reference librarian if you need help with the search process, or if you would like assistance  filling out an interlibrary loan request.