LibGuides: Researching Black History using Library Databases: Literature

Literature Databases

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
(Facts on File) - Facts On File’s literature database has been thoroughly revised and expanded to include the writings of renowned literary critic Harold Bloom. In addition to Facts On File’s extensive print literature collection, the database now includes Bloom’s essays and criticism that examine the lives and works of great writers throughout time and history. This database contains an archive of more than 38,000 characters, as well as a wide range of entries on literary topics, themes, movements, and genres.
Literary Reference Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable. An integrated research experience, Artemis Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.