Directions to access the PBSC databases:
Databases, e-books, and e-journals require you to sign-in using your Panther login credentials (email or ID #)
Sign-in to the catalog here, select A-Z databases at the top
Multi-Subject Databases
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Offers users the ability to search with a single query, one, several, or all of the available Thomson Gale databases.
Additional Library Databases
Photo by Jan Antonin Kolar on Unsplash
Databases for Basic Information
Provides access to more than 85 reference sources, including encyclopedias, almanacs, series, and - eBooks - in many subject areas, including literature, health, science, art, history, business, social science, and multicultural studies. To search for a specific title (e.g., Short Stories for Students, Drama for Students, etc.), select the publication by clicking on the "+" beside the discipline that covers it.
A collection of over 500 reference sources from more than 70 publishers. Integrated with journal article databases (EBSCO, Gale, JSTOR, Wilson), as well as EasyBib.
Persuasive Pro/Con Databases
Provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.
Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports are produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs, and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher — dating back to 1923, which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports.
Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.