On this page, you will find the databases that will help you with literary criticism and the psychological issues that will come up with the book The Kite Runner. For helpful hints in searching the databases, consult this Boolean Operator Cheat Sheet from McMaster University.
Designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
(Facts on File) - Facts On File’s literature database has been thoroughly revised and expanded to include the writings of renowned literary critic Harold Bloom. In addition to Facts On File’s extensive print literature collection, the database now includes Bloom’s essays and criticism that examine the lives and works of great writers throughout time and history. This database contains an archive of more than 38,000 characters, as well as a wide range of entries on literary topics, themes, movements, and genres.
Cross-searchable. An integrated research experience, Artemis Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature.
ProQuest One is for scholars who must engage with an exhaustive and diverse set of scholarly resources around a given literary topic for research and course planning. It contains 5 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings.
Includes access to three databases: Poem Finder, Story Finder, and Essay/Speech/Play Finder. Poem Finder is the largest, most comprehensive and most current poetry database available. It is international in scope, and covers poetry from antiquity to the present. It is a one-stop resource for locating over 4 1/2 million lines of poetry. Story Finder provides thousands of full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies, pictures and more. The database will be updated constantly with classic and contemporary stories. Speeches represent the finest examples of recorded oratory, covering the milestones of history as well as the minutiae of everyday life. Over 1,000 complete plays cover the range of dramatic expression from many countries, including one-act plays, puppet plays, Harlinquinades, tragedies, gothic, childrens, religious, romantic, historical, childrens and comedic plays.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.
(H.W. Wilson) - Over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology. Many articles in full text.
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
Books & Authors provides new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors and topics. Adapted from Gale's acclaimed What Do I Read Next? Print series, Books & Authors is specially designed to complement the browsing habits of today's Web user, integrating easy-to-follow menus that allow users to broaden and narrow their searches according to author, title or series, awards, and other criteria. An "if you like" search connects readers to the themes and genres that may have otherwise gone unnoticed.
Includes the complete content of printed reference sets.
Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.
Designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
(Facts on File) - Facts On File’s literature database has been thoroughly revised and expanded to include the writings of renowned literary critic Harold Bloom. In addition to Facts On File’s extensive print literature collection, the database now includes Bloom’s essays and criticism that examine the lives and works of great writers throughout time and history. This database contains an archive of more than 38,000 characters, as well as a wide range of entries on literary topics, themes, movements, and genres.
Cross-searchable. An integrated research experience, Artemis Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature.
ProQuest One is for scholars who must engage with an exhaustive and diverse set of scholarly resources around a given literary topic for research and course planning. It contains 5 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings.
Includes access to three databases: Poem Finder, Story Finder, and Essay/Speech/Play Finder. Poem Finder is the largest, most comprehensive and most current poetry database available. It is international in scope, and covers poetry from antiquity to the present. It is a one-stop resource for locating over 4 1/2 million lines of poetry. Story Finder provides thousands of full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies, pictures and more. The database will be updated constantly with classic and contemporary stories. Speeches represent the finest examples of recorded oratory, covering the milestones of history as well as the minutiae of everyday life. Over 1,000 complete plays cover the range of dramatic expression from many countries, including one-act plays, puppet plays, Harlinquinades, tragedies, gothic, childrens, religious, romantic, historical, childrens and comedic plays.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.
(H.W. Wilson) - Over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology. Many articles in full text.
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
Books & Authors provides new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors and topics. Adapted from Gale's acclaimed What Do I Read Next? Print series, Books & Authors is specially designed to complement the browsing habits of today's Web user, integrating easy-to-follow menus that allow users to broaden and narrow their searches according to author, title or series, awards, and other criteria. An "if you like" search connects readers to the themes and genres that may have otherwise gone unnoticed.
Includes the complete content of printed reference sets.
Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.
Designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
With Statista, you can access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword. Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
A custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily. The Professional Collection offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the arts and humanities, child and adolescent psychology and development, drug and alcohol abuse, health/nutrition/fitness, learning disabilities, literature, school law, science and technology, social sciences or sports/athletic training.
Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
(H.W. Wilson) - Offers the ultimate in current events coverage, curriculum support, and quality periodicals research for students, educators, and library patrons.
With Statista, you can access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword. Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
A custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily. The Professional Collection offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the arts and humanities, child and adolescent psychology and development, drug and alcohol abuse, health/nutrition/fitness, learning disabilities, literature, school law, science and technology, social sciences or sports/athletic training.
Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
(H.W. Wilson) - Offers the ultimate in current events coverage, curriculum support, and quality periodicals research for students, educators, and library patrons.
With Statista, you can access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword. Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
