Ideal for supporting discussions and research around diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice, Black Life in America presents the broad sweep of African American history in ways no textbook or other online resource can match. This primary source collection offers an expansive window into over 300 years of African American history and illustrates the significant impacts African Americans have had on culture, the arts, science, politics, religion and more. Content from more than 19,000 U.S. and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications, this unique digital archive, helps users gain multiple perspectives on the people, issues and events that shaped and continue to influence America’s conversations.
Hispanic history and American history are inextricably bound together. Hispanic Life in America is the single most comprehensive digital archive of primary source documents related to Hispanic American life. Replete with material unavailable elsewhere, this collection is sourced from more than 17,000 global news sources, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications, dating from 1704 to today. Combining deep historical content with current sources, Hispanic Life in America is an invaluable resource for anyone interested in examining the full spectrum of American history and culture.
Users will have access to an expansive set of content to support literary studies including:
Some people in the collection may be interviewed again, so that content for a particular person may grow as well. All of the appropriate metadata for the interviews is shown when you drill down to a particular person or a particular story.
The HistoryMakers retains high-quality versions of all interviews.
This scholarly collection brings together 370 research monographs, critical studies and practitioner texts, and reference works, as well as 60 dynamic physical acting training videos. The collection provides users with invaluable critical, contextual and pedagogic content to enhance their study of theatre, performance and Shakespeare studies. Titles are grouped under “Context and Criticism” or “Theatre Craft” and can be discovered by browsing these categories or by searching by title, subject, period or theme.
Methuen Drama titles in critical studies and performance practice provide companions to theatrical movements, theatre histories, geographies, playwrights, and research into emerging fields such as applied theatre and seminal works from practitioners such as Brecht. Performance Practice titles cover acting techniques, voice, and movement, as well as guides to working in the industry.
Arden Shakespeare titles provide historical, critical, and theoretical background to the study of Shakespeare’s life and work. From literary theory, to textual analysis, performance practice or Elizabethan history, The Arden Shakespeare studies list presents the work of the world’s preeminent Shakespeare scholar
Content: The cornerstone of MLA Handbook Plus is the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook, released in print in spring 2021. The ninth edition was created in direct, sustained dialogue with the instructors, librarians, and students around the world who use the handbook every day. A comprehensive reference work and textbook, the new handbook features:
seven chapters, three of which are devoted to documentation
Guide to changes between MLA Handbook 8e and 9e: https://style.mla.org/handbook-editions-comparison-chart/
142 visual examples
over 500 sample citations
Evolving: MLA Handbook Plus will expand with new resources and assets, becoming an even more valuable resource to libraries, faculty and students. Planned work includes:
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first major revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.
Music and Dance Online currently includes over 11 million audio tracks*, 2,500 hours of video, 1.3 million pages of scores, and 500,000+ pages of reference, archival primary sources, and periodicals, comprising the largest and most comprehensive online offering of in-copyright audio and video performances and scores available anywhere.
Broad-ranging materials include video of live performances, audio recordings, instructional films, previously unpublished works from acclaimed playwrights, performance posters and playbills, video interviews, and choreography not seen since the time of its original performance.
See an overview of the database with links to guides, tutorials, and more. Visit the Libguide.
An interactive guide to core processes and common diseases of the human body. Understanding normal and abnormal anatomy and pathophysiology is the basis of clinical practice and building a strong foundation is requirement in most curricula. Visible Body Physiology & Pathology works through interactive lessons that explain the step-by-step breakdown of common cardiovascular, renal, respiratory, gastrointestinal, and musculoskeletal processes. This is the ideal product to support online learning.
The Visible Body Physiology & Pathology App covers 48 critical physiology topics and 57 conditions, with 50 lessons, more than 5,800 3D models, 38 animations, 16 illustrations, and 26 quizzes.
Historical newspapers archive from the 1700s-2000s. Thousands of news titles from the Southeast United States.