Electronic Resources

Summer 2022

• History Makers' Archive (on-campus access) - expires 08/06/2022

  • The HistoryMakers, established in 1999, is a non-profit institution whose purpose is to record, preserve and disseminate the content of video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements. Its aim is to provide a unique scholarly and educational resource for exploring African American history and culture. It is unique among collections of African American heritage because of its large and varied scope, with interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Rather than focus on one particular part of a person’s life or a single subject, such as a career or participation in the civil rights movement, the interviews are life oral histories covering the person’s entire span of memories as well as his or her own family’s oral history.

    Interviews were first conducted in 1993, and continue to the present. The archive continues to grow, so that queries saved today may have new results tomorrow based on new interviews added into the archive. Some people in the collection may be interviewed again, so that content for a particular person may grow as well. All of the appropriate metadata for the interviews is shown when you drill down to a particular person or a particular story.

    The HistoryMakers retains high-quality versions of all interviews.

Spring 2022

• American Fiction, 1774-1920 - expires 05/15/2022
  • American Fiction, 1774-1920 encompasses more than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I, including thousands never before available online. This landmark digital collection is based on authoritative bibliographies including Lyle H. Wright’s American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography, widely considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult prose fiction of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, and Geoffrey D. Smith’s American Fiction, 1901-1925: A Bibliography, comprising nearly three-quarters of all adult fiction published in the United States during this time period.
• Bloomsbury Architecture Library - expires 05/13/2022 
  • Bloomsbury Architecture Library is comprised of two collections; The Core Collection and Architecture Design and Practice Online.

Core Collection

Explore 5,500 years of the world’s architecture through Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture 21st edition; browse through an interactive visual timeline of global architectural history; or undertake in-depth research through Bloomsbury’s library of architecture ebooks.

Highlights:

A landmark new edition of Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture, published in partnership with the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and the University of London. This is the first full re-write since Banister Fletcher was alive, with updates by over 100 experts.

Over 40 scholarly eBooks on architecture, architectural history, theory, design, urbanism, landscape, and interiors

Building pages with key information about the world’s most important buildings all in one place

A clickable world map linked to building pages and articles, making location-specific research easy

An essential glossary where students can look up key terms

Architecture Design and Practice Online

In partnership with Taylor and Francis, the Architecture Design & Practice Online collection includes over 200 titles focusing on studio design, technical detail, and professional practice – perfect for the student and the professional designer.

Highlights:

In-depth design guidance and technical detail to

Up-to-date peer-reviewed content

A wealth of case studies and technical drawings

Over 15,000 images right to the designer’s fingertips

This fully cross-searchable resource is a must-have for students and professional architects and it covers a wide range of topics such as: Digital design, Sustainability, Materials, Lighting design, Sketching and drawing, Historic preservation, Urban design, Professional practice

Fall 2021

• ProQuest One Literature - expires 10/31/2021
  • ProQuest One is for scholars who must engage with an exhaustive and diverse set of scholarly resources around a given literary topic for research and course planning. It contains 5 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings.
• The Rolling Stone Archive - expires 10/31/2021
  • The backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture. Major journalists and authors to have contributed include Hunter S. Thompson, Patti Smith, and Tom Wolfe.