It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bloom's LiteratureThis link opens in a new window(Facts on File) - Facts On File’s literature database has been thoroughly revised and expanded to include the writings of renowned literary critic Harold Bloom. In addition to Facts On File’s extensive print literature collection, the database now includes Bloom’s essays and criticism that examine the lives and works of great writers throughout time and history. This database contains an archive of more than 38,000 characters, as well as a wide range of entries on literary topics, themes, movements, and genres.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowCombines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
Literary SourcesThis link opens in a new windowCross-searchable. An integrated research experience, Artemis Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature.
American History (ABC-CLIO)This link opens in a new windowThis resource-rich reference and curriculum solution helps students understand the issues, perspectives, and history that have shaped our nation.
African American Experience (ABC CLIO)This link opens in a new windowThe widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowAccess back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Black Freedom StruggleThis link opens in a new windowThe Black Freedom Struggle website features expertly selected open primary source documents, including historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom.
This resource supports a wide range of students, from middle and high school to college, as well independent researchers and anyone interested in learning more about the ongoing Black Freedom Struggle. These reliable, easily discoverable materials may be used for homework assignments, personal inquiry, research papers and National History Day type-projects focused on African American history in the U.S.
The content is curated around six time periods:
1. Resistance to Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
2. The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
3. Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
4. The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
5. The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
6. The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
Book Discussion Questions
How does education shape or inform the identity of the protagonist?
How do the words of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. affect the protagonist?