LibGuides: Supervision and Management Capstone: Introduction

Reference Services

Reference assistance is available via online chat, text, email and phone.

Online Chat
Ask a Librarian's chat service lets you get live assistance from a librarian. Palm Beach State librarians and librarians throughout the state are available for research help. The Ask A Librarian service is open statewide from 10am - 12am Sunday - Thursday and 10am - 5pm Friday and Saturday.

Text Reference
Send your questions via text or SMS to (561) 945-8535.

E-mail Reference
Use the online form to submit questions. We will respond within 24 hours Monday through Thursday. Emails received during holiday closings will be answered when the library re-opens.

Business Databases

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
A new solution designed to support the unique teaching and learning needs of business faculty and students, ProQuest One Business delivers a mix of practical and theoretical content in an interface that helps students build the research skills they'll need for success in their courses and careers.

A business-focused experience intuitively guides users to content like journal articles, books, and company, industry and country reports – the materials they need for their most common assignments. Company Overview Pages help students quickly find the best resources for in-depth company research, including SWOT analyses, case studies, and industry reports.
ProQuest One Business content includes:
•Company, industry and country reports from providers such as the Economist Intelligence Unit and Fitch Solutions, and in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan
•Scholarly journal and ebook coverage from hundreds of renowned publishers, including Emerald and Springer
•Full text of the three major global business news sources: The Wall Street Journal, the Economist and the Financial Times
•A robust collection of video – including interviews with business leaders, case studies and trainings

*Contains Hoovers Company Profiles and D&B Reports
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources.
Business Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Provides fast, convenient access to a multitude of outstanding sourcesfrom The New York Times Business Section and The Wall Street Journal to magazines and scholarly journals. Users will find feature articles, product reviews, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, book reviews, reports from associations, societies, trade shows and conferences, and more.
Business Cases (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
Business Cases is the first discipline-wide digital collection tailored to library needs. These cases bring business to life – inspiring researchers to develop their own best practices and prepare for professional success.
Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Provides full text for 1,100 scholarly business journals, including full text for nearly 450 peer-reviewed business publications.
Florida News Sources (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Explore Florida history through local news, events and people with the Florida News Sources. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive web-based solution offering up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market level information.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides industry intelligence that analyzes the business operating risks and opportunities of over 1200 US industries. Each industry report provides the most detailed performance data and analysis on the market; supply chain information; forecasts; risk scores; operating strengths and weaknesses; analysis of external drivers; major player market strategies; and industry profit and cost benchmarks.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Powered by Hoover's™, a Dun & Bradstreet Solution, Mergent Intellect is a flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Medical & health; federal, state & international legal materials; corporate news & financial information, and more.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Statista (Statista, Inc.) This link opens in a new window
With Statista, you can access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword. Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
A premier research service for legal, news, and business-related information.

BAS Librarian

Janet Naughton- Palm Beach State College

Subjects: Baccalaureate, Business, History & Government, Human Services, Professional (Higher Education and Library), Social Sciences (also see History and Government)

Supervision and Management Capstone: Introduction

Reference Services

Business Databases

BAS Librarian

Tips for Effective Research