LibGuides: Supervision and Management Capstone: Chapter 1

Assignment for Chapter 1

Common Citations

Company or Industry Profiles

Gale Cengage Learning. (2019). Walgreen Co. [Company profile]. Retrieved from

http://bi.galegroup.com/

Hoover’s. (2020). Retail sector [Industry report]. Retrieved from

http://www.hoovers.com/

Company Webpages

McDonalds. (2019) The Ray Kroc story. Retrieved from

http://www.mcdonalds.com/us/en/our_story/our_history/the_ray_kroc_story.html

SEC Filings (10-K reports)

Apple Inc. (20118, October 31). U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission form

   10-K. Retrieved from

   http://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/320193/000119312512444068/

   d411355d10k.htm

Annual Reports (from company website)

McDonald’s. (2019, February 25). 2012 annual report. Retrieved from

http://www.aboutmcdonalds.com/content/dam/AboutMcDonalds/

Investors/Investor%202013/2012%20Annual%20Report%20Final.pdf

Print book

Schroeder, A. (2018). The snowball: Warren Buffett and the business of life. New

York, NY: Bantam Books.

eBook (reference book, no author)

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. (2019). In J. P. Pederson (Ed.), International Directory of

Company Histories (Vol. 141). Detroit, MI: St. James Press. Retrieved from

http://bi.galegroup.com/

Databases for Background Information

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
A new solution designed to support the unique teaching and learning needs of business faculty and students, ProQuest One Business delivers a mix of practical and theoretical content in an interface that helps students build the research skills they'll need for success in their courses and careers.

A business-focused experience intuitively guides users to content like journal articles, books, and company, industry and country reports – the materials they need for their most common assignments. Company Overview Pages help students quickly find the best resources for in-depth company research, including SWOT analyses, case studies, and industry reports.
ProQuest One Business content includes:
•Company, industry and country reports from providers such as the Economist Intelligence Unit and Fitch Solutions, and in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan
•Scholarly journal and ebook coverage from hundreds of renowned publishers, including Emerald and Springer
•Full text of the three major global business news sources: The Wall Street Journal, the Economist and the Financial Times
•A robust collection of video – including interviews with business leaders, case studies and trainings

*Contains Hoovers Company Profiles and D&B Reports
Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Provides full text for 1,100 scholarly business journals, including full text for nearly 450 peer-reviewed business publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Medical & health; federal, state & international legal materials; corporate news & financial information, and more.

Library Catalog

Search our catalog for books, ebooks, and more!

Websites

Your company's website will likely be a key resource for this section.

Annual Reports
EDGAR (for 10-K reports)
more...less...
Also found in Hoover's.
Yahoo Finance